The Invisibles

**Note: This post may contain affiliate links. This means that when you click one of the links in this post and make a purchase, Thrice Read Books receives a small commission from the seller. We do not charge authors for our reviews and this does not cost you anything additional and does not impact the author’s royalties – it does allow us to continue bringing you ad-free content, and we thank you in advance for your support.**

Twitter for The Invisibles review
Jenn reviews Rachel Dacus’ The Invisibles

About the Book

The Invisibles; Rachel Dacus
Adult; Suspense; 393 Pages

Time Fold Books (November 1, 2019)

What do you do when you can see invisible people?

If you’re free-spirited Saffron, you try to help them move along. Until one of them tries to move her along into The Room Over There.

Saffron and her older sister Elinor couldn’t be more different. Always independent, Saffron has a genius for creative living, but when her judgmental sister interfered in her love life two years ago, Saffron shut her out.

Ever since nine-year-old Saffron came to live with Elinor and her mother, the sisters have been rivals and opposites. Their competition reignites when they inherit Casa Magni, a cottage on the Italian coast, from their father. They struggle for control of the inheritance, but secretly each wishes to mend their broken sisterhood. Alternately arguing and compromising their way through the Italian countryside, they discover the house not only needs renovation but is haunted.

When big repairs stall the sale that Elinor’s pushing, Italy’s magic surrounds them with fun, unexpected loves, and even harmony — until one shocking night, when everything changes and one sister must make a harrowing choice.

“Charming and scary” …”A bookish mystery and ghost story”, perfect for fans of JoJo Moyes and Kristin Hannah.

Immerse yourself in this tale of sisters and spirits, love and secrets, in the magic setting of Italy.

About the Author

Rachel Dacus writes about women and relationships, with a touch of the supernatural. Her newest book, THE INVISIBLES, is a story of sisterhood and sacrifice, set in a dilapidated and haunted cottage on the northern Italian coast. In her first novel, THE RENAISSANCE CLUB, A 17th century artist meets his superfan from the future, and their love transforms history — but can it give them a future? Rachel Dacus’s poetry has appeared in four collections and many anthologies. Her most recent poetry collection is ARABESQUE. Rachel lives in Northern California with her husband and a tiny but mighty Silky Terrier. She’s a member of the Women’s Fiction Writer’s Association, Romance Writers of America, and Authors18. Learn more at racheldacus.net.

Jenn’s Review

Family secrets, mystery, a charming Italian village, and estranged half-sisters come together in Rachel Dacus’ new Women’s Fiction title, The Invisibles.

Saffron and Elinor couldn’t be more opposite. Saffron is carefree, irresponsible, and somewhat unstable. She also sees the dead, including the ghost of poet Percy Bysshe Shelley. She’s a pro at avoiding being an adult and frequently falls in and out of love – almost always with the wrong man. By contrast, Elinor has no idea how to unwind, relax, or be other than overbearing and controlling. She’s proud of her mid-level position at a local hospital but she’s tired of saving Saffron.

Their father’s death throws the women together to solve a final riddle – one that reveals a long-held secret and the one thing that might finally help the two find their way forward. Together.

Ms. Dacus has a talent for writing lyrical prose and creating deep settings and well-built characters, and The Invisibles is another feather in her cap. Four-stars for this recommended read.

Pin for The Invisibles Review
Jenn reviews Rachel Dacus’ The Invisibles

Buy the Book

This book is available in Kindle and paperback editions here.

Find out what we’re reading and what we’re loving in our monthly newsletter, Between the Lines. You can sign up for it here.

Thrice Read Books will use the information you provide on this form to be in touch with you and to provide updates and marketing. Please let us know all the ways you would like to hear from us:

You can change your mind at any time by clicking the unsubscribe link in the footer of any email you receive from us, or by contacting us at books@thricereadbooks.com. We will treat your information with respect. For more information about our privacy practices please visit our website. By clicking below, you agree that we may process your information in accordance with these terms.

We use Mailchimp as our marketing platform. By clicking below to subscribe, you acknowledge that your information will be transferred to Mailchimp for processing. Learn more about Mailchimp’s privacy practices here.


Also by Rachel Dacus

The Renaissance Club

Share

You may also like...

1 Response

  1. February 24, 2020

    […] The Invisibles […]

Leave a Reply