Tagged: Book Review

Motivation Manifesto

**Note: This post may contain affiliate links. This means that when you click one of the links in this post and make a purchase, Thrice Read Books receives a small commission from the seller. We do not charge authors for our reviews and this does not cost you anything additional and does not impact the author’s royalties – it does allow us to continue bringing you ad-free content, and we thank you in advance for your support.**

Jenn reviews Brendon Burchard's MOTIVATION MANIFESTO - nonfiction - personal development - self-help
Jenn reviews Brendon Burchard’s Motivation Manifesto

About the Book

Motivation Manifesto, Brendon Burchard

Adult, Personal Development, 256 Pages

Publisher: Hay House Inc.; First Edition edition (October 28, 2014)

“The Motivation Manifesto is a poetic and powerful call to reclaim our lives and find our own personal freedom. It’s a triumphant work that transcends the title, lifting the reader from mere motivation into a soaringly purposeful and meaningful life. I love this book.” — Paulo Coelho

The Motivation Manifesto is a pulsing, articulate, ferocious call to claim our personal power. World-renowned high-performance trainer Brendon Burchard reveals that the main motive of humankind is the pursuit of greater Personal Freedom. We desire the grand liberties of choice—time freedom, emotional freedom, social freedom, financial freedom, spiritual freedom. Only two enemies stand in our way: an external enemy, defined as the social oppression of who we are by the mediocre masses, and an internal enemy, a sort of self-oppression caused by our own doubt and fear.

The march to Personal Freedom, Burchard argues, can be won only by declaring our intent and independence, stepping into our personal power, and battling through self-doubt and the distractions of the day until full victory is won. Recalling the revolutionist voices of the past that chose freedom over tyranny, Burchard—at times poetic yet always fierce—motivates us to free ourselves from fear and take back our lives once and for all.

About the Author

 
BRENDON BURCHARD is one of the most watched, quoted, and followed personal development trainers in the world. He is a global Top 100 Most-Followed Public Figure on Facebook, and he’s often referred to as “one of the most successful online trainers in history” (Oprah.com). A #1 New York Times, #1 Wall Street Journal, and #1 USA Today bestselling author, his books include The Motivation Manifesto, The Charge, The Millionaire Messenger, and Life’s Golden Ticket. He is the star and executive producer of the #1 self-help show on YouTube, and his podcast, The Charged Life, debuted at #1 on iTunes. Over 50,000,000 people watched his videos in the last 12 months, more than 30,000,000 see his posts every week across the web, and 1,000,000-plus students have completed his online courses or video series. SUCCESS Magazine named Brendon as one of the Top 25 Most Influential Leaders in Personal Growth and Achievement, along with Oprah, Deepak Chopra, Joel Osteen, Arianna Huffington, Dave Ramsey, Dr. Oz, Wayne Dyer, and Facebook’s Sheryl Sandberg. Learn more at Brendon.com

Jenn’s Review

I’m a personal development junkie (for those who don’t already know this). I stumbled upon Brendon Burchard’s The Motivation Manifesto while looking for something else on his website. At the time, I was mired in overwhelm, health issues, and depression, and as I was already somewhat familiar with Brendon’s work, I jumped on what appeared to be a lovely volume of literature.

I was not disappointed.

This is a slender volume, for sure, coming in at under 250 pages. Contents aside, the time and care Mr. Burchard put into designing the book is clear – this could easily be an heirloom work of philosophical rhetoric from centuries ago.

The content is what sets this book apart, though. Borrowing from the great philosophers of the 17th and 18th centuries, Burchard stylizes and lays out a challenge to 21st Century dwellers to live more fully, open ourselves up to new ways of thinking, and raise our standards.

If you would prefer not to take a hard look at how you’re currently living your life, to be challenged to hold yourself accountable for your words, behavior, and impact on the world, this is not the book for you. If you are not ready to flip your life upside down and change how you think and how you live, this book is not for you.

If, however, you’re looking for motivation to improve your life, start with this volume. If you want to find those elements that seem to be missing from your life, depriving you of a life fully lived – this is your book.

Slender though it is, The Motivation Manifesto is not a book to be rushed through. Take your time. Ponder each section and every declaration. Do the exercises in the accompanying workbook (free to download). Share a copy or two with someone you love.

Jenn reviews Brendon Burchard's MOTIVATION MANIFESTO - nonfiction - personal development - self-help
Jenn reviews Brendon Burchard’s The Motivation Manifesto

Buy the Book

 This book is available on Amazon in Kindle, Audiobook, Hardcover and Audio CD formats here:

Shark Bait

**Note: This post may contain affiliate links. This means that when you click one of the links in this post and make a purchase, Thrice Read Books receives a small commission from the seller. We do not charge authors for our reviews and this does not cost you anything additional and does not impact the author’s royalties – it does allow us to continue bringing you ad-free content, and we thank you in advance for your support.**

Jenn reviews Nancy E. Miller's contemporary romantic suspense novel, SHARK BAIT
Jenn reviews Nancy E. Miller’s contemporary romantic suspense novel, Shark Bait

About the Book

Shark Bait, Nancy E. Miller 

Adult, Romantic Suspense, 308 Pages

Gypsy Willow Press (May 18, 2017)

Mental health counselor Kate Ainsworth received the call from Det. Rayder summoning her to the beach. Never did she guess that the trip involved a client’s head washed up on shore. Murder and mayhem ensue with Kate in the crosshairs. Ben Rayder is set to protect the woman he loves and track down the murderer, hoping it is her pesky ex-husband just so he can arrest the rich bum. Can he convince her to give love a second chance after devastating betrayal? But first, he must protect her from becoming shark bait.

About the Author

Nancy E Miller

 Greetings and thanks for visiting my author’s page. As you can tell from my biography on the book page, I am a complete sap for any four-legged creature. My husband and I live in Illinois near St. Louis, MO with our four dogs, 2 pygmy goats, and partial interest in a horse (Achilles boards here). Crystal Unicorns came out in 2011 and Shark Bait in May 2017 in multiple venues/formats. Desperate Overtures, debuted in July 2018. It is the first in the Alice Gentry series. All are romantic suspense novels…heavy on the suspense. 
I truly hope you enjoy my books. It’s been a long time coming. Feel free to contact me thru my email nancyemiller57@gmail.com or on my Facebook page https://www.facebook.com/Nancy-E-Miller-Author-894245750641373/?ref=bookmarks

Jenn’s Review

I’ve read Nancy E. Miller’s two other suspense/romance novels, and by far, Shark Bait was my absolute favorite and falls firmly in the Romantic Suspense category.

Kate Ainsworth is a mental health counselor. She mostly enjoys her job, though her boss is a chronic headache. Unfortunately for Kate, one of her clients has washed up on the beach. In pieces. With two dead sharks. Enter Det. Ben Rayder, who is in the unfortunate position of having to call Kate to identify her client’s remains.

The situation grows more and more complicated as Ben and Kate reconnect and the danger to Kate becomes increasingly apparent. The pair has a history that didn’t end well, and Kate’s ex-husband is on the prowl to seemingly get himself back into her good graces. Can Ben keep her safe when more than her heart is on the line?

As I mentioned, this book falls squarely in the romantic suspense category, and I thoroughly enjoyed reading this. I read the entire book in two sittings and had to rearrange my calendar just so that I could sit and enjoy this fast-paced adventure.

Ms. Miller’s characters are well developed and multi-faceted. It was difficult to hit the end of this book because I really wanted to continue following their journey. Her world-building in this novel was superb. I think only one or two moments gave me pause enough to pull me out of the story for more than a moment. Plot twists were mostly surprises, though one or two were visible from a long way off.

Considering the plot of the book, I also give props to Ms. Miller for her deft handling of what could be very disturbing and graphic moments in the story. She’s handled potential triggers with a deft hand and dialed down the “gross”.

In short, if you only read one of Miller’s novels this year, start here. By far the best indie-published romantic suspense I’ve read in a long time.

Jenn reviews Nancy E. Miller's contemporary romantic suspense novel, SHARK BAIT
Jenn reviews Nancy E. Miller’s contemporary romantic suspense novel, Shark Bait

Buy the Book

 This book is available on Amazon in Kindle format here:

The Million-Dollar, One-Person Business – Review

Jenn reviews Elaine Pofeldt's THE ONE-MILLION DOLLAR, ONE-PERSON BUSINESS on the Thrice Read Books Blog. Nonfiction, Business Books, Business Development
Jenn reviews Elaine Pofeldt’s The Million-Dollar One-Person Business on the Thrice Read Books Blog.

About the Book

The Million-Dollar, One-Person Business: Make Great Money. Work the Way You Like. Have the Life You Want.,  Elaine Pofeldt 

Adult, Small Business

Lorena Jones Books (January 2, 2018)

The indispensable guide to earning a six-figure take-home income on your own terms, from Forbes.com contributing writer Elaine Pofeldt.

The rise of one-million-dollar, one-person businesses in the past five years is the biggest trend in employment today, offering the widest range of people the most ways to earn a living while having the lifestyles they want. In The Million-Dollar, One-Person Business, Elaine Pofeldt outlines the pathways to joining this entrepreneurial movement, synthesizing advice from hundreds of business owners who’ve done it. She explains how to identify, launch, grow, and reinvent the business, showing how a single individual can generate $1 million in revenue–something only larger small companies have done in the past. Both inspirational and practical, this book will appeal to all who seek a great worklife and a great lifestyle.

About the Author

Biography

Elaine Pofeldt is an independent journalist who specializes in small business, entrepreneurship and careers. She is the author of “The Million-Dollar, One-Person Business,” a look at how entrepreneurs are hitting seven-figure revenue in businesses where they are the only employees (Random House, Jan. 2, 2018). Her work has appeared in FORTUNE, Money, CNBC, Inc., Forbes, Crain’s New York Business and many other business publications and she is a contributor to the Economist Intelligence Unit. 

As a senior editor at FORTUNE Small Business, where she worked for eight years, Elaine was twice nominated for the National Magazine Award for her features and ran the magazine’s annual business plan completion. During her time at FSB, she ran the magazine’s website, fsb.com, for four years, building its traffic to two to five million page views a month. 

Elaine graduated from Yale University with a BA in English. She lives in in New Jersey with her husband and their four children and in her free time enjoys taekwondo, yoga and running.

Jenn’s Review

As the owner of not one, but two online businesses, I’ve been wondering if it’s possible to bootstrap to success. The Million Dollar One-Person Business proves that running lean all the way to huge profits is possible.

Through case-studies and in-depth analysis, the author dissects what makes some lean start ups succeed while others fizzle out.

This is one of my top five recommended reads for someone considering starting their on business. Running a business, especially a bootstrapped start up, is hard work, and the author doesn’t sugar coat this aspect of entrepreneurship.

I came away from this reading with more ideas for our own businesses and how to group them with little to no borrowing.

If you’re tired of the grind and want an honest look at lean start ups, start with this book. I’ll be coming back to this book and it’s various worksheets frequently.

Jenn reviews Elaine Pofeldt's THE ONE-MILLION DOLLAR, ONE-PERSON BUSINESS on the Thrice Read Books Blog. Nonfiction, Business Books, Business Development
Jenn reviews Elaine Pofeldt’s The Million-Dollar One-Person Business on the Thrice Read Books Blog.

Buy the Book

 This book is available from Amazon in Kindle, audiobook, and Hardcover editions. [affiliate link]

Excuse Me, Your Life Is Waiting – Review

Jenn reviews Lynn Grabhorn's Law Of Attraction book, Excuse Me, Your Life is Waiting - nonfiction, personal development, law of attraction
Jenn reviews Lynn Grabhorn’s Law Of Attraction book, Excuse Me, Your Life is Waiting

About the Book

Excuse Me, Your Life Is Waiting,  Lynn Grabhorn

Adult, Self-help 

Hampton Roads Publishing; 15th Printing edition (2003)

Is there a way to always have a fat bank account, a better job, a delightfully smooth relationship, or a better body? Is it possible to realize these dreams now, rather than at some unknown future date? Lynn Grabhorn answers these questions with a resounding “yes.” In Excuse Me Your Life is Waiting, she says that what molds every moment of every day of one’s life are feelings. Using a candid, witty approach, she shows how feelings – not positive things, or sweat or strain, or good or bad luck, or even smarts – set the tone for people’s lives. She frames her theory as a four-part plan that covers all the big topics – money, relationships, health and spirituality – without being pompous or preachy. Grabhorn’s “Law of Attraction” lets the seeker find peace and pleasure in life by feeling rather than thinking.

“Rich in culture, this first book in the Forbidden Love series immediately draws the reader in to this modern take on a familiar star-crossed lovers tale.  The chemistry between Sara and Mazair sparks white hot immediately and every interaction sizzles.” – InD’Tale Magazine 
Be sure to scroll up and hit that BUY NOW button to discover a world in which love faces the ultimate test.

About the Author

Lynn Grabhorn was a longtime student of the way in which thought and feelings format our lives. Raised in Short Hills, New Jersey, she began her working life in the advertising field in New York City, founded and ran an audiovisual educational publishing company in Los Angeles, and owned and ran a mortgage brokerage firm in Washington State. Lynn’s books, which also include The Excuse Me, Your Life Is Waiting Playbook and Beyond the Twelve Steps, have received high acclaim from all corners of the world. Lynn passed away in 2004 at her home in Olympia, Washington.

Jenn’s Review

Want better health? Financial freedom? Release from crushing and debilitating anxiety, depression and more? EXCUSE ME, YOUR LIFE IS WAITING has straightforward answers in a down to earth language that anyone can learn from.

Manifestation and the Law of Attraction is more than just positive thinking, it’s all about how you feel. In a world where we are constantly bombarded by negative messages, Lynn Grabhorn’s book teaches how to move through it, even change your personal experience of the world, without just ignoring the news.

I’ve been studying Law of Attraction for a few years now, and can attest that Ms. Grabhorn’s straight forward approach is spot on. Read through this book for a better understanding of what Law of Attraction is, and how to make it work for yourself; apply the lessons in this book, stick with it, and see the evidence for yourself.

Jenn reviews Lynn Grabhorn's Law Of Attraction book, Excuse Me, Your Life is Waiting - nonfiction, personal development, law of attraction
Jenn reviews Lynn Grabhorn’s Law Of Attraction book, Excuse Me, Your Life is Waiting

Buy the Book

 This book is available from Amazon in Hardback, and Paperback editions. [affiliate link]

At Home with Madame Chic – Review

Jenn reviews Jennifer Scott's AT HOME WITH MADAME CHIC, nonfiction home and personal style
Jenn reviews Jennifer Scott’s At Home with Madame Chic on the Thrice Read Books blog

About the Book

At Home with Madame Chic, Jennifer L. Scott

Adult, Home Improvement, 305 Pages

Simon & Schuster (October 7, 2014)

Approach life at home the Madame Chic way: a beautiful, illustrated toolbox of tips and ideas for organizing, entertaining, and savoring a stylish life.

When she arrived at Madame Chic’s Parisian apartment as a foreign exchange student, Jennifer Scott was a casual California girl who thought sweatpants were appropriate street attire. Madame Chic took Jennifer under her wing and tutored her in the secrets of how the French elevate the little things in life to the art of living.

Years later, Jennifer was back in California with a husband, two young daughters, a dog, and her first home. Every day she confronted mundane duties like folding laundry and unloading the dishwasher, and she began to think about Madame Chic’s home—how the breakfast table was set beautifully the night before, the music that always played in the background, the calm of Madame and Monsieur Chic’s ritual cocktail hour together. Jennifer wanted that life. She decided to see what would happen if she didn’t perform her chores impatiently or mindlessly, if, instead, she could live like Madame Chic.

At Home with Madame Chic reveals the secrets to having a happy, fulfilling, and passionate life at home. Jennifer explains the morning send-off need not be chaotic, it’s possible to look stylish with minimal time and effort, a little forethought makes it possible to serve a home-cooked dinner every night, and details like music and scented candles can set the tone for the whole family’s evening. Organized by the pleasures that can be found throughout the day, this charming, helpful book is full of ideas, playlists, recipes, beauty routines, and advice that can turn an irritating day into an enjoyable experience.

About the Author

Jennifer L. Scott is the New York Times bestselling author of Lessons from Madame Chic, At Home with Madame Chic and Polish Your Poise with Madame Chic (Simon & Schuster) and creator of the blog The Daily Connoisseur. She is a contributing writer for Huffington Post Style and has been featured on CNN, BBC, and CBS News, and in The New York Times, Vanity Fair, USA Today, Newsweek, and The Daily Mail. She lives with her family in Los Angeles, California.

Jenn’s Review

I am always on the lookout for ways to make my home more homey; ways to liven up my wardrobe or self-care routine. It’s not a matter of Keeping up with the Joneses – I honestly don’t care what the neighbors think. It is more a matter of keeping myself out of the rut of the stay at home mom, the chronic pain lifestyle that makes my old ways of doing things beyond reach.

A TED Talk given by Jennifer L. Scott, about the ten item wardrobe caught my attention, and sent me on a hunt for some of these Madame Chic books she’d written. I really wanted out of my old wardrobe of yoga pants, leggings and tee shirts.

At Home with Madame Chic gave me that, and so much more. We recently moved into a fully furnished house, and my life became a constant state of decluttering. With some of the tips in this book, our home feels less like a storage unit and more like a place to live.

Ms. Scott breaks home life into areas, morning, noon, afternoon and evening. She includes recipes, music suggestions and a brief summary of each section. She draws on examples from her own experience, as a student in Paris, and as a work-at-home mom with two little ones.

I borrowed this one from the library, to give it a try before buying it, but it has been moved to the top of my book wish list, along with the other books in this series.

Add class and warmth to your life with this sweet little guide to homemaking with style. Meet Madame Chic, and find your style!

Jenn reviews Jennifer Scott's AT HOME WITH MADAME CHIC, nonfiction home and personal style
Jenn reviews Jennifer Scott’s AT HOME WITH MADAME CHIC, nonfiction home and personal style

Buy the Book

  This book is available from Amazon in Kindle, Hardcover, and audio CD editions. [affiliate link]

Desperate Overtures: An Alice Gentry Novel

**Note: This post may contain affiliate links. This means that when you click one of the links in this post and make a purchase, Thrice Read Books receives a small commission from the seller. We do not charge authors for our reviews and this does not cost you anything additional and does not impact the author’s royalties – it does allow us to continue bringing you ad-free content, and we thank you in advance for your support.**

Thrice Read Books reviews Nancy E. Miller's suspense (with romance) novel, DESPERATE OVERTURES.
Thrice Read Books reviews Nancy E. Miller’s suspense (with romance) novel, Desperate Overtures

About the Book

Desperate Overtures: An Alice Gentry Novel, Nancy E. Miller

Adult, Romantic Suspense, 224 Pages

Published  July 21, 2018

Dr. Alice Gentry is not telling the whole truth. Despite her evidence files full of torture, murder, and fire, there is more to the story than the hunter now becoming the hunted. She pulled in every favor to get the FBI involved. Now it’s SSA Chris Jensen’s job to clear up the facts before she ends up dead. He isn’t thrilled about working with an academic but learns she is more than he ever imagined…much more. Sam Richardson, the one person she trusts, thinks she is in over her head but he will defend her to the death. That’s what you do for the woman you love.
A tidal wave of emotion threatens to engulf her. Fear, guilt and shame work to cripple her. Anger and hate drive her on. She remembers a quote by Friedrich Nietzsche, “Beware that, when fighting monsters, you yourself do not become a monster… for when you gaze long into the abyss… the abyss gazes also into you.”

About the Author

Nancy E Miller

 Greetings and thanks for visiting my author’s page. As you can tell from my biography on the book page, I am a complete sap for any four-legged creature. My husband and I live in Illinois near St. Louis, MO with our four dogs, 2 pygmy goats, and partial interest in a horse (Achilles boards here). Crystal Unicorns came out in 2011 and Shark Bait in May 2017 in multiple venues/formats. Desperate Overtures, debuted in July 2018. It is the first in the Alice Gentry series. All are romantic suspense novels…heavy on the suspense. 
I truly hope you enjoy my books. It’s been a long time coming. Feel free to contact me thru my email nancyemiller57@gmail.com or on my Facebook page https://www.facebook.com/Nancy-E-Miller-Author-894245750641373/?ref=bookmarks

Jenn’s Review

Nancy Miller’s Desperate Overtures is tense, riveting suspense with elements of romance. While it exceeded my expectations, I can’t firmly place it in the realm of romance fiction.

Dr. Alice Gentry is a survivor. She lost both parents when she was a young woman in the aftermath of her abduction and torture at the hands of a budding serial killer. She’s spent years studying and tracking the man who haunts her nightmares, and she finally has access to the FBI, the only people that can bring down the monster.

SSA Chris Jenson doesn’t make the best first impression, but when he realizes what Dr. Gentry left out of the initial interview, his view of the petite woman shifts 180 degrees. Her notes, case files and first hand account prove invaluable as tensions and the body count rise.

Sam? He’s been at Dr. Gentry’s side from day one. The day he drove her parents to the hospital and watched her father collapse, dead, at her bedside. In all the years he’s watched over her, he’s fallen in love with her, but has never given his feelings a voice.

Desperate Overtures isn’t a highly graphic story, though there are elements that might trigger some folks (I’ll be dealing with the images left over for a while, I think), so be forewarned. This is definitely a novel worth sinking your teeth into; the plot twists aren’t plentiful but I found them unexpected all the same.

I hesitate to call this a straight forward romance, though. The heroine’s love interest is muddled through the first half of the book, and overall, the book seemed to be missing some of the requisite plot beats necessary for the book to be satisfactory as a romance – this is not to say that the book wasn’t satisfying, it certainly was. However, some readers may be disappointed if they are expecting strictly a love story. This is definitely more about Dr. Gentry’s resolution of a long-standing wound. This also is the first book in a series, and I’m hoping that book two explores the romance/love story between Alice and Sam more.

In the final tally, Nancy Miller’s Desperate Overtures is worth a read. I was pleasantly surprised, it’s been a while since I had an indie book roll across my Kindle of this quality. I have Ms. Miller’s previous novels, Crystal Unicorns, and Shark Bait, and look forward to reading those as well.

Thrice Read Books reviews Nancy E. Miller's suspense (with romance) novel, DESPERATE OVERTURES.
Thrice Read Books reviews Nancy E. Miller’s suspense (with romance) novel, DESPERATE OVERTURES.

Buy the Book

 This book is available on Amazon in Kindle and Paperback formats here:

Crystal Unicorns: Innocence is so very fragile

**Note: This post may contain affiliate links. This means that when you click one of the links in this post and make a purchase, Thrice Read Books receives a small commission from the seller. We do not charge authors for our reviews and this does not cost you anything additional and does not impact the author’s royalties – it does allow us to continue bringing you ad-free content, and we thank you in advance for your support.**

Jenn reviews Nancy E. Miller's romantic suspense CRYSTAL UNICORNS on the Thrice Read Books blog

About the Book

Crystal Unicorns: Innocence is so very fragile, Nancy E Miller 

Adult Romantic Suspense, 324 Pages

Published November 17, 2013

Now out in paperback as well! Alexis made a fatal mistake. Her new book is about an act of evil and its aftermath, all true and graphically detailed. Now a psychopath wants his due and makes a game of the hunt. Her marriage is dying, and hubby is more than willing for her past love to protect her when Alexis arrives in her hometown. There are more secrets than answers and passion may prove reckless. Innocence is so very fragile. Protector, survivor, and hunter are all victims of shattered lives. They are–Crystal Unicorns. 
Crystal Unicorns is an 80,000 word romantic suspense novel that provides a fast paced, intense psychological journey where cruelty destroys innocence and crushes the human spirit. It is a novel of redemption and renewal against staggering odds.. 
Nancy E. Miller lives near St. Louis, Missouri with her husband, six incredibly spoiled dogs, three cats (not spoiled– entitled), and a tribe of unsociable pygmy goats. She holds a Bachelors degree in Psychology and Sociology and has worked with endangered youth and those dealing with mental illness as an educator, case worker and crisis intervention counselor

About the Author

Nancy E Miller

 Greetings and thanks for visiting my author’s page. As you can tell from my biography on the book page, I am a complete sap for any four-legged creature. My husband and I live in Illinois near St. Louis, MO with our four dogs, 2 pygmy goats, and partial interest in a horse (Achilles boards here). Crystal Unicorns came out in 2011 and Shark Bait in May 2017 in multiple venues/formats. Desperate Overtures, debuted in July 2018. It is the first in the Alice Gentry series. All are romantic suspense novels…heavy on the suspense. 
I truly hope you enjoy my books. It’s been a long time coming. Feel free to contact me thru my email nancyemiller57@gmail.com or on my Facebook page https://www.facebook.com/Nancy-E-Miller-Author-894245750641373/?ref=bookmarks

Jenn’s Review

Another fantastic Nancy E. Miller suspense novel. Unlike Desperate Overtures, Crystal Unicorns is more romance than suspense, though the mystery still takes center stage.

Alexis is a successful author, and her latest release is another big hit, even though it’s much darker than her previous novels. She’s not fond of going on a book tour, and would love to get out of going, especially to Orlando, where deeply buried secrets and feelings are lying in wait for her. To add to her mounting anxiety – her husband is pushing her to contact an old friend. Alexis would rather swallow broken glass than go there.

As her tour launches, though, her book triggers a chain of events that will force her hand in more ways than she can fathom, and when the body count starts to rise, she’s forced to go down that path of memories and broken hearts to lean on a man she hasn’t spoken to in years.

Crystal Unicorns is still not fully what I would consider romance, but it’s dang close. The tension is high, both in terms of mystery and attraction, and the story is well executed. I had a bit of trouble with a plot point or two (won’t dive into them here, to avoid spoilers), but they were not out of place in the context of the story. A solid four-stars and I’m a Nancy Miller reader.

Jenn reviews Nancy E. Miller's romantic suspense CRYSTAL UNICORNS on the Thrice Read Books blog

Buy the Book

 This book is available on Amazon in Kindle and Paperback formats here:

About the Author

Nancy E Miller Greetings and thanks for visiting my author’s page. As you can tell from my biography on the book page, I am a complete sap for any four-legged creature. My husband and I live in Illinois near St. Louis, MO with our four dogs, 2 pygmy goats, and partial interest in a horse (Achilles boards here). Crystal Unicorns came out in 2011 and Shark Bait in May 2017 in multiple venues/formats. Desperate Overtures, debuted in July 2018. It is the first in the Alice Gentry series. All are romantic suspense novels…heavy on the suspense. 
I truly hope you enjoy my books. It’s been a long time coming. Feel free to contact me thru my email nancyemiller57@gmail.com or on my Facebook page https://www.facebook.com/Nancy-E-Miller-Author-894245750641373/?ref=bookmarks

Reviewer’s Review

 

Buy the Book

 This book is available on Amazon in Kindle and Paperback formats here:

 

Forbidden by Faith – Review

Thrice Read Books - Jenn reviews interfaith romance FORBIDDEN BY FAITH by Negeen Papehn - ownvoices, authors of color, multicultural, Iranian-American

About the Book

Forbidden by Faith,  Negeen Papehn, Forbidden Love Book 1

Adult, Multicultural Romance

City Owl Press (February 20, 2018)

Sara knows her life would be easier if she married a man of her faith, but when has love ever been easy?Raised by her immigrant Iranian parents, Sara has been taught that a good daughter makes decisions based on her family’s approval, and she’s spent most of her life in their good graces. Until she meets Maziar, and her world is turned upside down.
An instant electricity ignites between them, and it seems like fate when she discovers he’s also Iranian. Just as her mind begins to soar with the possibilities, he shatters her hopes.
Sara is Muslim. Maziar is Jewish. Will faith tear them apart?
Despite centuries of unrest behind them, Sara and Maziar embark on a forbidden love affair, attempting to navigate through cultural and religious prejudices.
Deep within the trenches of their battle, Sara finds herself more empowered and careless than ever before, but will her love and newfound life be worth the ultimate cost–her family?
“FORBIDDEN BY FAITH shows how family, love, and faith can collide, even in this modern age.” – Romance Author, A. K. Leigh ★★★★★ 

“Rich in culture, this first book in the Forbidden Love series immediately draws the reader in to this modern take on a familiar star-crossed lovers tale.  The chemistry between Sara and Mazair sparks white hot immediately and every interaction sizzles.” – InD’Tale Magazine 
Be sure to scroll up and hit that BUY NOW button to discover a world in which love faces the ultimate test.

About the Author

Negeen Papehn was born and raised in southern California, where she currently lives with her husband and two rambunctious boys. She wasn’t always a writer. A graduate of USC dental school, Negeen spends half of her week with patients and the other half in front of her laptop. In the little time she finds in between, she loves to play with her boys, go wine tasting with her friends, throw parties, and relax with her family.

Jenn’s Review

When this book slid into my scope for possible review, I got really excited. I’d just come from a conference where diversity in romance was a hot topic, and FORBIDDEN BY FAITH was exactly what I was looking for to feature on our blog.

I wasn’t disappointed, though this book rides a fine line between women’s fiction and romance.

Sara is a grown woman, working through the rigors of post-graduate pharmacy school. While she was born in the US, her parents are Iranian immigrants with their own tragic love story. She’s been raised on the Iranian Muslim traditions of her parents and her mother’s extended family, though she doesn’t consider herself religious. When she meets Mazier at a party, she has just one question for him, “Are you Jewish or Muslim?”

Like Sara, Mazier was raised in the US by Iranian immigrant parents. He insists that his Jewish parents won’t be bothered by her family’s heritage. She opts to ignore the small warning voice in her head telling her that a relationship with Mazier is doomed at best. This turns out to be her biggest mistake, ignoring this voice…

Mazier’s family is unwelcoming to Sara, to say the least. Downright hostile would be more accurate; and ultimately, they cause enough friction between the star-crossed lovers that Sara can no longer take it, and she walks away.

Enter Ben, the calm, solid comfort of friendship from a fellow pharmacy student, just when Sara is trying hard to get over her broken heart – this section of the story is what leads me to place the whole book in the women’s fiction category. Ben and Sara have a relationship that evolves from friendship to lovers with a future, but that bond takes hit after hit when Mazier shows up unexpectedly from time to time, ripping open all the barely healed wounds in Sara’s heart.

Ultimately, tragedy strikes and Sara is forced to choose between the two men she loves, and takes on a battle she expects she’ll never win.

FORBIDDEN BY FAITH is a debut novel, and ultimately, that shows in the writing style – long descriptions, awkward dialogue… But in the end tally, this is a book worth reading, especially because of the intimate look inside other cultures, other religions, and the ugly face of deeply ingrained prejudice. This long, winding story, contains deep, well-developed characters living real-life struggles. I’m already looking forward to reading the next book this author puts out.

Thrice Read Books - Jenn reviews interfaith romance FORBIDDEN BY FAITH by Negeen Papehn - ownvoices, authors of color, multicultural, Iranian-American

Buy the Book

 This book is available from Amazon in Kindle, and paperback editions. [affiliate link]

Other Books in this series:

Forbidden by Destiny (Book 2 – Leyla & Ben’s story)

Forbidden by Time (Book 3 – coming soon)

Chroma Crossing Chronicles: Blood Moon: Part 1 – Review

Thrice Read Books reviews S. Yurvati's BLOOD MOON: CHROMA CROSSING BOOK 1. Fantasy/Paranormal/Adult fiction

About the Book

Blood Moon,  S. Yurvati, Chroma Crossing Chronicles

Adult, Fantasy Romance

Amazon Digital Services LLC

Hunky pheromone-laden-man meets pretty accident-prone female—it should have been a love story with a happy ever after ending. 
However, when the bored deities choose Candy and Thorne for an amusing game, the gods/goddesses put forth sets of circumstances that can tear the couple apart and wound them deep within their human souls. 
City girl, Candy wanted to become a successful artist and maybe someday find a man who would make her feel loved and valued, a feeling she’d never known while growing up. However, with a name like ‘Candy Cane’, males never failed to remind her with a wink and snicker, how it sounded like she was a ‘professional’. And ‘professional’ held so many connotations, none of which she had in mind regarding relationships with men. 
With her father’s sudden demise, Candy finds she’s inherited funds and a carriage house in beautiful historic Savannah. Not only can she now afford to go to SCAD, her future as an artist looks promising. Unfortunately her step-mom (and her disturbing son Todd) resides in the main house. When Candy gets her first commission for a life-sized portrait of a beautiful woman from a rather unsettling man, she soon questions what had seemed coincidental.
Candy is a modest female who has always found solace in her artwork, whereas her widowed step-mom, Cherry Ann, considers physical pleasure and money as her measures of worth. And as Candy pursues her art, Cherry Ann pursues a new lover who expands her world of sexual gratifications far beyond past parameters. Cherry Ann finds her new risqué sex life to be addictive and doesn’t recognize the danger of the man she’s invited into her life.
After surviving a couple of ‘accidents’, Candy realizes someone apparently wishes her harm. When she’s chased (by the one thing she fears most) Candy accidently, or so it seems, crosses into a new dimension, land or whatever. She finds herself in an unknown wilderness without resources, let alone a map, or GPS, plus she left her cell phone at home—again. Looking around she sees a curious terrain that is void of color, thus leaving the landscape looking like an old sepia photograph, hardly the Savannah spring day she’d left behind. 
The artist in her wants to understand how primary colors could disappear to leave a land so colorless . . . so entirely beige-ish. How could such a phenomenal occurrence come about? A land without modern conveniences—almost as though she’d stepped into a time past, yet that wasn’t quite accurate either.
As Candy literally stumbles through the wild terrain, an intriguing hunter comes upon her. His presence makes her girlie parts beg to become ill behaved, and before she knows it, her hormones are arguing with her strict moral compass.

About the Author

S. Yurvati began putting her thoughts and imaginings on paper during her childhood and continued through college years. After completing her Master of Science degree at CSUN she was hit with that proverbial wrecking ball. BAM! Reality set in—she needed to make a dependable living and put her degree to work. 
After three decades of working in the medical world, life struck her with a much bigger wrecking ball. This one was sufficiently jarring that her husband convinced her to retire and take the time to write. Admittedly, working in a science- based career left her little opportunity for the creativity of her wired left-handed brain. As soon as she agreed to return to writing he immediately took her to an electronic store and told her to “choose a laptop”. 
And that led to the beginning of Chroma Crossing: Blood Moon.
She has lived in eight different states from one end of the nation to the other, six with her husband. That doesn’t include the stint at Fort McClellan during the heat of summer without air-conditioning. That unpleasant Alabama experience was for Basic Training, as she was one of the last WACs (Women’s Army Corp) during the end of the Vietnam era. 
Now she resides in Texas with the “love-of-her-life” husband of forty-one years. She says he taught her to be young at heart and is her biggest fan in her pursuits (he’s probably doing cheerleading with pom-poms as you read this).
To say she has a love of cats is like saying squirrels love nuts (yes, the reference is intentional). The Yurvati’s share their large home with six cats, fondly referred to as the ‘herd’. You might consider that over the top and they agree, but argue the last two kittens were adopted during a weak moment. Her husband no doubt cringes when purchasing cat food and cat litter. However, the author says felines make very good book critics, always providing a high five with furry paws or commenting with purrs of encouragement.

Jenn‘s Review

When I was approached about reviewing this book, it was pitched as part romance, part fantasy, part paranormal… I should have read between the lines a little more.

After reading the book, I’m still not sure what genre to file it under, and I’m not sure I can say that I enjoyed the book. Granted, I was anticipating a romance novel – which this is most definitely not. *Spoiler alert – the heroine doesn’t meet the love interest until around page 250 of a 300 page book.*

This is a debut novel, and I’m sincerely hoping that book 2 is better written and better edited than book 1. The story rambles, with each chapter coming from the POV of a different character, to the point that it’s difficult to nail down who the main players are. Add some jarring head-hops into the extensive narrative, and you get a less-than-satisfying storyline.

With that said, I still found myself turning the page, wanting to know what happens next. Book 1 is apparently told in two parts, and ends in the middle of a scene (I’m not sure cliffhanger describes how the book ended). I will be returning to this series soon to hopefully finish book 2, or part 2 of book one. I’m not sure how this particular series works.

Another note to potential readers: this book is far from PG. Numerous, disturbing, graphic sexual scenes dot the landscape of this book. The author describes the antagonist as a masochist – he is, in fact, an extreme sadist. Rape, sodomy, and sexual torture feature in his enjoyment. For those that these type of things act as triggers, your best bet is to avoid this series.

This is an interesting story to read, though the author rambles and repeats. Narrative abounds and conversation is somewhat lacking, but suspense is plentiful, and I’m hoping that book 2 shows the author’s growth.

Thrice Read Books reviews S. Yurvati's BLOOD MOON: CHROMA CROSSING BOOK 1. Fantasy/Paranormal/Adult fiction

Buy the Book

 This book is available from Amazon in Kindle, and paperback editions. [affiliate link]

Miao Shan – The Awakening – Review

**Note: This post may contain affiliate links. This means that when you click one of the links in this post and make a purchase, Thrice Read Books receives a small commission from the seller. We do not charge authors for our reviews and this does not cost you anything additional and does not impact the author’s royalties – it does allow us to continue bringing you ad-free content, and we thank you in advance for your support.**

Brian reviews GAM Morris' adult urban fantasy novel, Miao Shan: The Awakening on Thrice Read Books' review blog.

About the Book

Miao Shan – The Awakening by G.A.M. Morris 

New Adult to Adult, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, 286 pages

Indie Published, January 15, 2019

**Please note that the author has rated this book as 18+ due to graphic violence.**

When ten-year-old Chow Lei witnesses her parent’s brutal murder she becomes emotionally scarred for life. Her maternal grandmother adopts her and attempts to help her, but only when Chow Lei joins a Shaolin Kung Fu school does any emotional healing occur.

After a year of training at the Kung Fu school, her grandmother reticently agrees to send her to the Shaolin Temple so the emotional healing can continue.

After many years in the Shaolin Temple, once she had reached enlightenment, Lei returns home only to discover that her grandmother has also been murdered.

Alone and in tears she swears to bring justice to those who have killed her loved ones. Little does she know that she is destined to become, Miao-Shan, the living Goddess of Justice! Justice for all!

About the Author: 

Author G. A. M. Morris, creator of Miao-Shan: The Awakening

I was born in London in 1963. We moved to Cape Town, South Africa when I was 8 years old. I studied at the University of Cape Town Business school. For most of my working life, I have been a collectibles, art, and antique dealer. In 2007 I became a commercial property broker. I started writing fiction professionally in 2010, during which time I wrote two complete novels, of which Miao-Shan is the second one. At the end of 2010, I returned to the property industry, without having acquired an agent. For the next six years, I wrote part-time. Two years ago, I started to work full-time as a self-published author, mainly selling on Amazon, under a pen-name. I currently have two other books completed (one an unusual spy thriller, and the other a time-traveling paranormal fantasy), which will be published at a later date. The time-traveling paranormal fantasy novel, I intend to convert into a graphic novel. I’m now concentrating on getting Miao-Shan published.

Twitter: https://twitter.com/GAM_Morris

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/GAMMorrisauthor/

Goodreads: www.goodreads.com/author/show/7280567.G_A_M_Morris

Brian’s Review:

Brian reviews GAM Morris' adult urban fantasy novel, Miao Shan: The Awakening on Thrice Read Books' review blog.

So upon reading this book, I decided to give this book 4 different reviews. First for story plot, second for world building, third for action sequences, and the final will be a combination of the previous 3. That being said, let me begin.

Story Plot ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
The story plot in my opinion was amazing. The story line is the only thing that kept me reading this book. More to come on that later. The author’s idea and plot was spot on and something a little different. I believe one would be hard pressed to find a better thought out plot. Any other negative thoughts was overshadowed by the sheer brilliance of the plot.

World Building ⭐⭐
As good as the plot was, the world building was lacking greatly. So much potential with so little descriptions. The author lost a lot by focusing more on conversation than descriptions. Some examples that are taken directly from the book, “Po Po had given her a necklace with a figure of Guan Yin, as a pendant. ” That’s the full description. No color, no metal, no length. Another example from the book, “Over the next four hours, Want Deshi measured, cut and sowed a traditional martial arts night operations outfit.” Again, missing the chance to really describe what the reader should be imagining. Instead, the reader is left, if like me, thinking of the Hollywood ninja clothes, that are quite certain to be anything but traditional, not to mention, this is Kung Fu from China and not karate or ninjitsu from Japan. Buildings, surroundings, and most everything else was quickly described leaving many important, and let’s just face it, wanted, information completely out. Instead of spending somewhere in excess of 75% of the story in conversation, the author should have used some of that space to build the world he was creating.

Action Sequences ⭐⭐⭐
There was plenty of action in this book. The reason I’ve only given this a 3 star is the quality of describing the action. Combat scenes felt rushed, or like they weren’t important when in this reader’s opinion, the action and combat should have been the front most next to world building. Fighting scenes were extremely rushed. For example, “Suddenly five men with long knives leaped out of the dark and were about to proceed to kill everyone. Lei instantly sprung onto her feet in a blur of movement, her legs started spinning, and her arms and hands started to move forward in a blur, in circular movements, thrusting and chopping. Within a minute all fine of the attackers were lying immobile on the ground.” These kinds of descriptions left me with the feeling of what really happened. The author lost a lot of potential by skipping details once again.

Over All ⭐⭐⭐1/2
Over all I give the book a 3 1/2 start rating. The plot being the only saving grace of this book. It’s my understanding this is the author’s first book, and if that’s true, that surely explains some of this, and I greatly expect he’ll improve upon that. So I would recommend the reading of this book, so long as you over look the minimal amount of descriptions. I also believe that as the author grows, his writing will too, and his books are going to be amazing.

Buy the Book

Miao Shan can be purchased at any of the following links:
Amazon
iBooks
Barnes & Noble
Kobo
Tolino
OverDrive
bibliotheca