Tagged: Book Review

Lord of Shadows

**Note: This post may contain affiliate links. This means that when you click one of the links in this post and make a purchase, Thrice Read Books receives a small commission from the seller. We do not charge authors for our reviews and this does not cost you anything additional and does not impact the author’s royalties – it does allow us to continue bringing you ad-free content, and we thank you in advance for your support.**

Twitter for Lord of Shadow review
Sam reviews Lord of Shadow by Cassandra Clare

About the Book

Lord of Shadows; Cassandra Clare
Teen; Fantasy; 721 Pages

Margaret K. McElderry Books; Reprint edition (May 23, 2017)

About the Author

Cassandra Clare is the author of the #1 New York Times, USA TODAY, Wall Street Journal, and Publishers Weekly bestselling Mortal Instruments series and the Infernal Devices trilogy, and coauthor of the Bane Chronicles with Sarah Rees Brennan and Maureen Johnson. She also wrote The Shadowhunter’s Codex with her husband, Joshua Lewis. Her books have more than 36 million copies in print worldwide and have been translated into more than thirty-five languages. Cassandra lives in western Massachusetts. Visit her at CassandraClare.com. Learn more about the world of the Shadowhunters at Shadowhunters.com.

Sam’s Review

More Shadowhunters! In Lord of Shadows, Emma and Julian are still dealing with their bond problem. Things get worse when Annebel rises from the dead with the Black Volume of the Dead. Malcolm, dead, is a zombie, and a trip to the faerie realm only brings more trouble than they bargained for.

Rich and creative as ever, Lord of Shadows will draw you in. Easy to read, difficult to put down, and all-around pleasant. In some places though, it’s basically all aboard book train, leaving Pleasantville and entering What-the-Fudge Town. I recommend for readers of a teen read in level who can handle tense scenes.

Pin for Lord of Shadow review
Sam reviews Lord of Shadow by Cassandra Clare

Buy the Book

This book is available in Kindle, Audiobook, Hardback, and paperback editions here.

Find out what we’re reading and what we’re loving in our monthly newsletter, Between the Lines. You can sign up for it here.

Thrice Read Books will use the information you provide on this form to be in touch with you and to provide updates and marketing. Please let us know all the ways you would like to hear from us:

You can change your mind at any time by clicking the unsubscribe link in the footer of any email you receive from us, or by contacting us at books@thricereadbooks.com. We will treat your information with respect. For more information about our privacy practices please visit our website. By clicking below, you agree that we may process your information in accordance with these terms.

We use Mailchimp as our marketing platform. By clicking below to subscribe, you acknowledge that your information will be transferred to Mailchimp for processing. Learn more about Mailchimp’s privacy practices here.


Other Books by Cassandra Clare

Lady Midnight (Book 1)

Queen of Air and Darkness (Book 3)

Lady Midnight

**Note: This post may contain affiliate links. This means that when you click one of the links in this post and make a purchase, Thrice Read Books receives a small commission from the seller. We do not charge authors for our reviews and this does not cost you anything additional and does not impact the author’s royalties – it does allow us to continue bringing you ad-free content, and we thank you in advance for your support.**

Twitter for Lady Midnight review
Sam reviews Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare (book 1 in the Dark Artifices series)

About the Book

Lady Midnight; Cassandra Clare
Teen; Fantasy; 689 Pages

Publisher – Date published

The Shadowhunters of Los Angeles star in the first novel in Cassandra Clare’s newest series, The Dark Artifices, a sequel to the internationally bestselling Mortal Instruments series. Lady Midnight is a Shadowhunters novel.

It’s been five years since the events of City of Heavenly Fire that brought the Shadowhunters to the brink of oblivion. Emma Carstairs is no longer a child in mourning, but a young woman bent on discovering what killed her parents and avenging her losses.

Together with her parabatai Julian Blackthorn, Emma must learn to trust her head and her heart as she investigates a demonic plot that stretches across Los Angeles, from the Sunset Strip to the enchanted sea that pounds the beaches of Santa Monica. If only her heart didn’t lead her in treacherous directions…

Making things even more complicated, Julian’s brother Mark—who was captured by the faeries five years ago—has been returned as a bargaining chip. The faeries are desperate to find out who is murdering their kind—and they need the Shadowhunters’ help to do it. But time works differently in faerie, so Mark has barely aged and doesn’t recognize his family. Can he ever truly return to them? Will the faeries really allow it?

Glitz, glamours, and Shadowhunters abound in this heartrending opening to Cassandra Clare’s Dark Artifices series.

About the Author

Cassandra Clare is the author of the #1 New York Times, USA TODAY, Wall Street Journal, and Publishers Weekly bestselling Mortal Instruments series and the Infernal Devices trilogy, and coauthor of the Bane Chronicles with Sarah Rees Brennan and Maureen Johnson. She also wrote The Shadowhunter’s Codex with her husband, Joshua Lewis. Her books have more than 36 million copies in print worldwide and have been translated into more than thirty-five languages. Cassandra lives in western Massachusetts. Visit her at CassandraClare.com. Learn more about the world of the Shadowhunters at Shadowhunters.com.

Sam’s Review

A series of a series. Who would have thought? That is exactly what Lady Midnight starts. Well, ends. It depends on how you look at it. Shadowhunters are half angels who hunt and kill demons. And falling love with your partner is NOT allowed.

I loved this, and it is a very large book. Filled with major plot twists and Poe references, it was an interesting ride. However, there were very slow moments.

Pin for Lady Midnight Review
Sam reviews Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare (book 1 in the Dark Artifices series)

Buy the Book

This book is available in Kindle, Audiobook, Hardback and Paperback editions here.

Find out what we’re reading and what we’re loving in our monthly newsletter, Between the Lines. You can sign up for it here.

Thrice Read Books will use the information you provide on this form to be in touch with you and to provide updates and marketing. Please let us know all the ways you would like to hear from us:

You can change your mind at any time by clicking the unsubscribe link in the footer of any email you receive from us, or by contacting us at books@thricereadbooks.com. We will treat your information with respect. For more information about our privacy practices please visit our website. By clicking below, you agree that we may process your information in accordance with these terms.

We use Mailchimp as our marketing platform. By clicking below to subscribe, you acknowledge that your information will be transferred to Mailchimp for processing. Learn more about Mailchimp’s privacy practices here.


Other Books in the Series:

Lord of Shadows (Book 2)

Queen of Air and Darkness (Book 3)

High Performance Habits

**Note: This post may contain affiliate links. This means that when you click one of the links in this post and make a purchase, Thrice Read Books receives a small commission from the seller. We do not charge authors for our reviews and this does not cost you anything additional and does not impact the author’s royalties – it does allow us to continue bringing you ad-free content, and we thank you in advance for your support.**

Twitter for High Performance Habits review
Jenn reviews Brendon Burchard’s best-selling High Performance Habits

About the Book

High Performance Habits; Brendon Burchard
Adult; Self-Help; 401 Pages

Hay House Inc. (September 19, 2017)

THESE HABITS WILL MAKE YOU EXTRAORDINARY.

Twenty years ago, author Brendon Burchard became obsessed with answering three questions:

1. Why do some individuals and teams succeed more quickly than others and sustain that success over the long term?

2. Of those who pull it off, why are some miserable and others consistently happy on their journey?

3. What motivates people to reach for higher levels of success in the first place, and what practices help them improve the most

After extensive original research and a decade as the world’s leading high performance coach, Burchard found the answers. It turns out that just six deliberate habits give you the edge. Anyone can practice these habits and, when they do, extraordinary things happen in their lives, relationships, and careers.

Which habits can help you achieve long-term success and vibrant well-being no matter your age, career, strengths, or personality? To become a high performer, you must seek clarity, generate energy, raise necessity, increase productivity, develop influence, and demonstrate courage. The art and science of how to do all this is what this book is about.

Whether you want to get more done, lead others better, develop skill faster, or dramatically increase your sense of joy and confidence, the habits in this book will help you achieve it faster. Each of the six habits is illustrated by powerful vignettes, cutting-edge science, thought-provoking exercises, and real-world daily practices you can implement right now.

If you’ve ever wanted a science-backed, heart-centered plan to living a better quality of life, it’s in your hands. Best of all, you can measure your progress. A link to a free professional assessment is included in the book.

About the Author

BRENDON BURCHARD is one of the most watched, quoted, and followed personal development trainers in the world. He is a global Top 100 Most-Followed Public Figure on Facebook, and he’s often referred to as “one of the most successful online trainers in history” (Oprah.com). A #1 New York Times, #1 Wall Street Journal, and #1 USA Today bestselling author, his books include The Motivation Manifesto, The Charge, The Millionaire Messenger, and Life’s Golden Ticket. He is the star and executive producer of the #1 self-help show on YouTube, and his podcast, The Charged Life, debuted at #1 on iTunes. Over 50,000,000 people watched his videos in the last 12 months, more than 30,000,000 see his posts every week across the web, and 1,000,000-plus students have completed his online courses or video series. SUCCESS Magazine named Brendon as one of the Top 25 Most Influential Leaders in Personal Growth and Achievement, along with Oprah, Deepak Chopra, Joel Osteen, Arianna Huffington, Dave Ramsey, Dr. Oz, Wayne Dyer, and Facebook’s Sheryl Sandberg. Learn more at Brendon.com

Jenn’s Review

With all the chatter “out there”, about how to take your life to the next level, who do you listen to? What really makes successful people… Successful? Better yet, how do they stay that way? For science-backed answers, start with Brendon Burchard’s High Performance Habits.

This isn’t a quick, light read. It’s a hefty volume, filled with practical, research-based steps to enact in your own life to take yourself, your family, and your career to the next level and beyond.

True, you can breeze through it in a few days, if you skip all the homework and Performance Prompts. But don’t do that disservice to yourself. Take the time to really read and think. Answer the questions. Put the habits into practice.

If you only read one book on personal development this year, make it this book!

Pin for High Performance Habits review
Jenn reviews Brendon Burchard’s best-selling High Performance Habits

Buy the Book

This book is available in Kindle, Audiobook, Hardback and paperback here.

Find out what we’re reading and what we’re loving in our monthly newsletter, Between the Lines. You can sign up for it here.

Thrice Read Books will use the information you provide on this form to be in touch with you and to provide updates and marketing. Please let us know all the ways you would like to hear from us:

You can change your mind at any time by clicking the unsubscribe link in the footer of any email you receive from us, or by contacting us at books@thricereadbooks.com. We will treat your information with respect. For more information about our privacy practices please visit our website. By clicking below, you agree that we may process your information in accordance with these terms.

We use Mailchimp as our marketing platform. By clicking below to subscribe, you acknowledge that your information will be transferred to Mailchimp for processing. Learn more about Mailchimp’s privacy practices here.

Savannah’s Secrets

**Note: This post may contain affiliate links. This means that when you click one of the links in this post and make a purchase, Thrice Read Books receives a small commission from the seller. We do not charge authors for our reviews and this does not cost you anything additional and does not impact the author’s royalties – it does allow us to continue bringing you ad-free content, and we thank you in advance for your support.**

Savannah’s Secrets by Reese Ryan

About the Book

Savannah’s Secrets; Reese Ryan
Adult; African American Romance; 240 Pages

 Harlequin Desire; Original edition (March 1, 2018)

Falling for the boss, or taking him down?

Savannah Carlisle had the perfect plan. By infiltrating the Abbott family’s Tennessee bourbon empire as their events manager, she’d be one step closer to claiming half of the business they stole from her grandfather. Now she’s not so sure. Because sexy Blake Abbott, heir to it all, is simply intoxicating. He’s supposed to be the enemy. But after one long, stormy weekend, she’s pregnant with his child…

About the Author

Reese Ryan writes sexy, deeply emotional romances with family drama, surprising secrets, and unexpected twists.

Past president of her local Romance Writers of America chapter and a panelist at the 2017 Los Angeles Times Festival of Books, Reese is an advocate for the romance genre and diversity in fiction.

Jenn’s Review

Dive into a steamy read on a rainy day, about love, lies, and other tricky business in Reese Ryan’s short novel, Savannah’s Secrets.

Savannah is a determined woman on a mission. Fifty years ago, her grandfather’s business partner cheated him out of a fortune and stole his recipe for the bourbon that has made the Abbott family wealthy. Or so the story goes. So when Savannah manages to land a job as an event manager for the company, she grasps her opportunity to expose their lies and get what her grandfather is owed. Only, she didn’t count on falling hard for one of them.

Blake Abbott has his own ghosts, and he knows better than to get involved with an employee, but when Savannah is stranded at the office, with the only connecting road flooded between office and her apartment, taking her home with him for the weekend seems like the right thing to do, even if it is a horrible idea.

As the situation becomes more and more complicated, their just- budding love is tested, but is it strong enough to weather the outing of so many lies?

Reese Ryan crafts a sensual love story with humor liberally sprinkled throughout. Well crafted characters draw the reader in for a rollercoaster ride that ends in fireworks.

Savannah’s Secret by Reese Ryan

Buy the Book

This book is available in Kindle and paperback editions here.

Find out what we’re reading and what we’re loving in our monthly newsletter, Between the Lines. You can sign up for it here.

Thrice Read Books will use the information you provide on this form to be in touch with you and to provide updates and marketing. Please let us know all the ways you would like to hear from us:

You can change your mind at any time by clicking the unsubscribe link in the footer of any email you receive from us, or by contacting us at books@thricereadbooks.com. We will treat your information with respect. For more information about our privacy practices please visit our website. By clicking below, you agree that we may process your information in accordance with these terms.

We use Mailchimp as our marketing platform. By clicking below to subscribe, you acknowledge that your information will be transferred to Mailchimp for processing. Learn more about Mailchimp’s privacy practices here.

Edit Your Own Romance Novel

**Note: This post may contain affiliate links. This means that when you click one of the links in this post and make a purchase, Thrice Read Books receives a small commission from the seller. We do not charge authors for our reviews and this does not cost you anything additional and does not impact the author’s royalties – it does allow us to continue bringing you ad-free content, and we thank you in advance for your support.**

Twitter for Edit Your Own Romance Novel Review
Jenn reviews Ebony McKenna’s Edit Your Own Romance Novel

About the Book

Edit Your Own Romance Novel; Ebony McKenna
Adult; Reference; 157 Pages

Ebony McKenna (May 28, 2017)

A land of pure magic hides between worlds, and Maggie is trapped in paradise.

This practical, step-by-step guide will give your manuscript the structure, pace and the emotional hit today’s romance readers are looking for.

This editing book will be your new best friend. It will show you the best methods for Backburning Backstory. It will make sure your romance novel has The 13 Main Scenes (and what needs to be in them) and show you how to ramp up your powerfully emotional scenes with The Staircase of Turning Points.

Delivered with Ebony McKenna’s trademark friendly and funny style, this book will become your ‘go-to’ when planning, writing and editing your novels for years to come.

The author’s self-published, self-edited book The Girl & The Ghost won the 2018 Romance Book of the Year from the Romance Writers of Australia.

Maggie is dragged out of a wizard’s battle and finds herself in a land of pleasure. But dark secrets taint the days of endless perfection. Secrets that could cost Maggie her life.

As the danger grows, Maggie finds an unlikely ally in the annoyingly charming Bertrand Wayland.

Seeking a chance for survival, Maggie follows Bertrand on a daring adventure and finds herself in a land on the brink of war. As a handsome hero shows her unimaginable beauty, his alluring ways draw her deeper into danger.

A deadly enemy approaches. His thirst for blood is stronger than Maggie’s magic. The fate of a world depends on which life Maggie is willing to sacrifice…

About the Author

As a teenager, Ebony lived and worked in her family’s restaurant, which provided much of the inspiration for the Ondine novels. Ebony waitressed, prepared food – and yep – washed dishes. So many dishes.

In the 1990s she worked as an award winning journalist on many leading Melbourne newspapers. By day she wrote other people’s stories, but by night she plotted epic adventures. Now she writes novels for a living.

Ebony McKenna lives in Melbourne, Australia with her husband and young son.

She loves gadgets and anything futuristic. Doctor Who and The Goodies have always been TV treats. A weekly trivia night at the local pub allows her to show off her knowledge of 1980s pop music. She recently appeared on the TV quiz show Million Dollar Minute, where she was the reigning champion across 4 nights.

Coffee, chocolate and Facebook games are her worst vices. Playing with her son’s toys is fun and reading to him at bedtime is a joy.

A huge influence was British humorist and author Frank Muir. For sixteen years Ebony and Frank swapped letters filled with family anecdotes and stories. They later met in 1995, dining at The Groucho Club in London. While there, one of her other literary heroes, Douglas Adams, was pitching “something rather exciting and complicated to a couple of suits at the next table.”

Jenn’s Review

I write romance. But I haven’t gotten past the editing stage for a variety of reasons – the kind of reasons that have less to do with not liking my work (out of some sense of false modesty), and more with trying to figure out how the really good authors work their magic (because I’ve also read a ton of tragically BAD romance, too). So when I found Ebony McKenna’s Edit Your Own Romance Novel, I jumped on it. (Sorry, Hubby. I know my budget for books rivals your budget for gas in the car…)

This little book? I just finished reading through it, did some of the work outlined (I’m mired in a rewrite. Again.), and this book has a permanent home on my writer’s resources shelf, where I can easily grab it.

Draft your book first. Read through it and correct any glaring problems that you can fix first, then let that binder sit for a month or so. Literally. Go draft the next book, have a reading binge. Watch a few seasons of something or other. And then break out your manuscript and this book.

Just working through the 13 major scene cards was a HUGE revelation. This isn’t just story beats for romance, it’s an organization system that allows you to see where your novel is off-kilter, at a glance.

The editing advice in section one is brutally kind and just potent enough to help the quailing writer find their own, ruthless inner editor.

And the staircase of turning points? I’m all in. This is something I’ve struggled with since my first writing course, and Ms. McKenna’s explanation is helpful.

This book is destined for my top recommended reads for writers, and I’m so grateful for this author’s clarity and sense of humor (plus, tons of great literary and film references!).

Pin for Edit Your Own Romance Review
Jenn reviews Ebony McKenna’s Edit Your Own Romance Novel

Buy the Book

This book is available in Kindle and Paperback editions here.

Find out what we’re reading and what we’re loving in our monthly newsletter, Between the Lines. You can sign up for it here.

Thrice Read Books will use the information you provide on this form to be in touch with you and to provide updates and marketing. Please let us know all the ways you would like to hear from us:

You can change your mind at any time by clicking the unsubscribe link in the footer of any email you receive from us, or by contacting us at books@thricereadbooks.com. We will treat your information with respect. For more information about our privacy practices please visit our website. By clicking below, you agree that we may process your information in accordance with these terms.

We use Mailchimp as our marketing platform. By clicking below to subscribe, you acknowledge that your information will be transferred to Mailchimp for processing. Learn more about Mailchimp’s privacy practices here.

The Reflections of Queen Snow White

**Note: This post may contain affiliate links. This means that when you click one of the links in this post and make a purchase, Thrice Read Books receives a small commission from the seller. We do not charge authors for our reviews and this does not cost you anything additional and does not impact the author’s royalties – it does allow us to continue bringing you ad-free content, and we thank you in advance for your support.**

Twitter for The Reflections of Queen Snow White review
Jenn reviews David Meredith’s venture into the world of fairy tale romance with The Reflections of Queen Snow White

About the Book

The Reflections of Queen Snow White; David Meredith
Adult; Fantasy Romance; 133 Pages

David Meredith; 1 edition (January 20, 2014)

What happens when “happily ever after” has come and gone?

On the eve of her only daughter, Princess Raven’s wedding, an aging Snow White finds it impossible to share in the joyous spirit of the occasion. The ceremony itself promises to be the most glamorous social event of the decade. Snow White’s castle has been meticulously scrubbed, polished and opulently decorated for the celebration. It is already nearly bursting with jubilant guests and merry well-wishers. Prince Edel, Raven’s fiancé, is a fine man from a neighboring kingdom and Snow White’s own domain is prosperous and at peace. Things could not be better, in fact, except for one thing:

The king is dead.

The queen has been in a moribund state of hopeless depression for over a year with no end in sight. It is only when, in a fit of bitter despair, she seeks solitude in the vastness of her own sprawling castle and climbs a long disused and forgotten tower stair that she comes face to face with herself in the very same magic mirror used by her stepmother of old.

It promises her respite in its shimmering depths, but can Snow White trust a device that was so precious to a woman who sought to cause her such irreparable harm? Can she confront the demons of her own difficult past to discover a better future for herself and her family? And finally, can she release her soul-crushing grief and suffocating loneliness to once again discover what “happily ever after” really means?

Only time will tell as she wrestles with her past and is forced to confront The Reflections of Queen Snow White.

About the Author

David Meredith is a writer and educator originally from Knoxville, Tennessee. He received both a Bachelor of Arts and a Master of Arts from East Tennessee State University, in Johnson City, Tennessee. He received his Doctorate in Educational Leadership (Ed.D.) from Trevecca Nazarene University in Nashville, Tennessee. On and off, he spent nearly a decade, from 1999-2010 teaching English in Northern Japan, but currently lives with his wife and three children in the Nashville Area where he continues to write and teach English.

Twitter Facebook

Jenn’s Review

I’ve read some of David Meredith’s work in the past, so when The Reflections of Queen Snow White came across my desk, I figured I’d give it a shot. It sounded like a deviation from the previous works I’ve read by Mr. Meredith (which I enjoyed) and an intriguing idea, so I jumped in. 

King Charming is dead and Queen Snow White is stuck in her grief. With their daughter’s wedding quickly approaching, the bereaved Queen struggles to move forward with her life. 

When the aging queen flees to a seldom-used tower of the castle to get away from the constant demands of ruling a kingdom, she finds herself in her former step-mother’s room, before the magic mirror that fueled the former queen’s hatred for a very young Snow White.

Through a series of reflections in the mirror, we get glimpses of the queen’s life before Charming, their marriage, and their lives together, including a deep dive into Snow’s depression and struggles to conceive a child. 

While I enjoyed the book, I feel the need to warn romance fans that they might be disappointed. Snow’s adventures with the Mirror do lead her to revisit the deep, abiding love story between Snow and Charming, there is no developing romantic relationship happening in this book. It is fantastic as women’s fiction, as it explores the ups and downs of life as well as the difficulties of finding one’s feet after tremendous loss, but the love story has already happened.

Pin for The Reflections of Queen Snow White review
Jenn reviews David Meredith’s venture into the world of fairy tale romance with The Reflections of Queen Snow White

Buy the Book

This book is available in Kindle, Audio, and Paperback here.

Find out what we’re reading and what we’re loving in our monthly newsletter, Between the Lines. You can sign up for it here.

Thrice Read Books will use the information you provide on this form to be in touch with you and to provide updates and marketing. Please let us know all the ways you would like to hear from us:

You can change your mind at any time by clicking the unsubscribe link in the footer of any email you receive from us, or by contacting us at books@thricereadbooks.com. We will treat your information with respect. For more information about our privacy practices please visit our website. By clicking below, you agree that we may process your information in accordance with these terms.

We use Mailchimp as our marketing platform. By clicking below to subscribe, you acknowledge that your information will be transferred to Mailchimp for processing. Learn more about Mailchimp’s privacy practices here.


Also by David Meredith

Aaru

Aaru: Halls of Hel

The Vixen Pederson Workshop

**Note: This post may contain affiliate links. This means that when you click one of the links in this post and make a purchase, Thrice Read Books receives a small commission from the seller. We do not charge authors for our reviews and this does not cost you anything additional and does not impact the author’s royalties – it does allow us to continue bringing you ad-free content, and we thank you in advance for your support.**

Twitter for The Vixen Pederson Workshop review
Sam’s Teen Reads Corner reviews The Vixen Pederson Workshop by Maxine Sylvester

About the Book

The Vixen Pederson Workshop; Maxine Sylvester
Children; Christmas; 397 Pages

Amazon Digital Services LLC – November 15, 2019

Destination North Pole! Santa’s top reindeer, Vixen Pederson, is hosting a teamwork workshop—and Ronaldo has his flying goggles packed and ready to go!
In training for a sleigh race, the cadets must work together to win the ultimate prize—Jingle Bells! But Ronaldo’s dream turns into a nightmare when Cupid joins his side. She’s the worst flying cadet, ever! And his squabbling teammates are plotting to put her out of the race.
But Cupid isn’t who she appears to be. And when Ronaldo discovers she is the granddaughter of a world-famous flying champion, he suspects she is guarding a secret. And the only way to lead his team to victory—is to find out what it is.

About the Author

Maxine Sylvester was born in London, England. She grew up with a passion for Winnie the Pooh and Paddington Bear. She also loved anything Disney and enjoyed drawing the characters.
Maxine’s love of ‘fun’ art grew and she had the privilege of being mentored by cartoonist and caricaturist, Steve Chadburn. She completed further studies in children’s book illustration with talented artist and illustrator, Jan Nesbitt.

Sam’s Review

Sam’s Teen Reads Corner features two new books by Maxine Sylvester

Ronaldo is back! And this story follows the birthday of his best friend, Rudi, as they go to the North Pole, meeting new friends and learning new things about themselves. Cute and funny just like the others, the main lesson in this one is that it’s ok to accept the fact that you are different, followed by strength in numbers. I would recommend this series to young children who are animal lovers and holiday lovers.

Pin for The Vixen Pederson Workshop review
Sam’s Teen Reads Corner reviews The Vixen Pederson Workshop by Maxine Sylvester

More by this author:

Rudi’s Birthday Extravaganza (Book 3)

Ronaldo & the Phantom Carrot Snatcher (Book 2)


Buy the Book

This book is available on Kindle here.


Find out what we’re reading and what we’re loving in our monthly newsletter, Between the Lines. You can sign up for it here.

Thrice Read Books will use the information you provide on this form to be in touch with you and to provide updates and marketing. Please let us know all the ways you would like to hear from us:

You can change your mind at any time by clicking the unsubscribe link in the footer of any email you receive from us, or by contacting us at books@thricereadbooks.com. We will treat your information with respect. For more information about our privacy practices please visit our website. By clicking below, you agree that we may process your information in accordance with these terms.

We use Mailchimp as our marketing platform. By clicking below to subscribe, you acknowledge that your information will be transferred to Mailchimp for processing. Learn more about Mailchimp’s privacy practices here.

Rudi’s Birthday Extravaganza

**Note: This post may contain affiliate links. This means that when you click one of the links in this post and make a purchase, Thrice Read Books receives a small commission from the seller. We do not charge authors for our reviews and this does not cost you anything additional and does not impact the author’s royalties – it does allow us to continue bringing you ad-free content, and we thank you in advance for your support.**

Twitter for Rudi's Birthday Extravaganza
Sam’s Teen Reads Corner reviews Rudi’s Birthday Extravaganza by Maxine Sylvester

About the Book

Rudi’s Birthday Extravaganza; Maxine Sylvester
Children; Christmas; 397 Pages

Amazon Digital Services LLC – November 15, 2019

Destination North Pole! Santa’s top reindeer, Vixen Pederson, is hosting a teamwork workshop—and Ronaldo has his flying goggles packed and ready to go!
In training for a sleigh race, the cadets must work together to win the ultimate prize—Jingle Bells! But Ronaldo’s dream turns into a nightmare when Cupid joins his side. She’s the worst flying cadet, ever! And his squabbling teammates are plotting to put her out of the race.
But Cupid isn’t who she appears to be. And when Ronaldo discovers she is the granddaughter of a world-famous flying champion, he suspects she is guarding a secret. And the only way to lead his team to victory—is to find out what it is.

About the Author

Maxine Sylvester was born in London, England. She grew up with a passion for Winnie the Pooh and Paddington Bear. She also loved anything Disney and enjoyed drawing the characters.
Maxine’s love of ‘fun’ art grew and she had the privilege of being mentored by cartoonist and caricaturist, Steve Chadburn. She completed further studies in children’s book illustration with talented artist and illustrator, Jan Nesbitt.

Sam’s Review

Sam’s Teen Reads Corner features a special double new release by Maxine Sylvester

Ah yes, the gentle reminders of childhood reading. And while I do a lot of YA, today, we’re gonna do something a little different. Ronaldo: Rudi’s Birthday Extravaganza! Cute, funny, and full of lessons that are good for young children. Such lessons include don’t make yourself sick on sugar, and help out around your neighbors.

Pin for Rudi's Birthday Extravaganza review
Sam’s Teen Reads Corner reviews Rudi’s Birthday Extravaganza by Maxine Sylvester

Buy the Book

This book is available on Kindle here.


Also by Maxine Sylvester:

Ronaldo and the Phantom Carrot Snatcher (Book 2)

The Vixen Pederson Workshop (Book 4)


Find out what we’re reading and what we’re loving in our monthly newsletter, Between the Lines. You can sign up for it here.

Thrice Read Books will use the information you provide on this form to be in touch with you and to provide updates and marketing. Please let us know all the ways you would like to hear from us:

You can change your mind at any time by clicking the unsubscribe link in the footer of any email you receive from us, or by contacting us at books@thricereadbooks.com. We will treat your information with respect. For more information about our privacy practices please visit our website. By clicking below, you agree that we may process your information in accordance with these terms.

We use Mailchimp as our marketing platform. By clicking below to subscribe, you acknowledge that your information will be transferred to Mailchimp for processing. Learn more about Mailchimp’s privacy practices here.

Shadows of Hemlock

**Note: This post may contain affiliate links. This means that when you click one of the links in this post and make a purchase, Thrice Read Books receives a small commission from the seller. We do not charge authors for our reviews and this does not cost you anything additional and does not impact the author’s royalties – it does allow us to continue bringing you ad-free content, and we thank you in advance for your support.**

Twitter for Shadows of Hemlock review
Jenn and Sam weigh in on KM Pohlkamp’s Shadows of Hemlock

About the Book

Shadows of Hemlock; K.M. Pohlkamp
Adult; Crime Thriller; 360 Pages

Filles Vertes Publishing; None edition (November 19, 2019)

Regret is a bitter poison. In a desperate grasp for prestige, Aselin Gavrell betrayed her master to the execution block for the advantage of the onyx pendant now around her neck. Shelter from her master’s crimes comes with an unwanted allegiance and a list of innocents to murder. But the Guild of poison assassins will not be so easily pacified and charge Aselin to develop an antidote as retribution of her betrayal. Unprepared for the independence she craved, Aselin is forced to seek aid from a fickle contact who wants only one means of payment: a ruby ring with a mare’s head. To save herself from her master’s fate, Aselin must navigate a growing list of debtors eager to toss her aside and confront her guilt in this fast-paced tale of growth and redemption in Tudor England.

About the Author

K.M. Pohlkamp is a blessed wife to the love of her life, a proud mother of two, and a Mission Control flight controller. Originally from Wisconsin, she now resides in Houston, Texas.

Jenn’s Review

Strong, independent, female characters and anti-heroes return in K.M. Pohlkamp’s much-anticipated sequel to Apricots and Wolfsbane, Shadows of Hemlock.

Aselin Gavrell made a fateful decision, and one she may live to regret when she betrayed her mentor. Now, she sits indebted to the man who arranged the betrayal.

Worse, the Guild doesn’t recognize Aseline’s supposition of her former Master’s status.

And because Fate will challenge the willful, not only does Aselin have a list of targets that she won’t be paid for, she also has four short months to discover an antidote to her poison of choice – Hemlock.

As she works her way through her benefactor’s list and comes to realize how petty their slights really were, Aselin begins to question her choices and form a plan to avenge her mentor and redeem herself.

Sequels are notoriously difficult, and they are frequently seen as less than the first. I admit that I struggled with Aselin’s character (to be fair, her mentor challenged me, too, on Apricots), but the story kept me engaged, pulling me from page to page as Aselin’s arc accelerated and grew into her purpose.

This can be read as a stand-alone, but I wouldn’t recommend doing so. Aselin’s story begins in Apricots, and so many characters pull from that tale to this that much of the detail could be lost. Start with book 1, and be ready to dive into book 2. A solid 4 stars.

Sam’s Review

The lineage of women assassins continues with Aselin, apprentice to the late Lavia. Desperate to prove her worth to the world of poison masters and her patron, her pride guides her, mixed with the teachings of Lavinia and the guilt of her brother’s death. With the daunting tasks ahead of her, can she prove her worth, or will she be marked as both an outcast and a criminal?

Shadows of Hemlock is certainly as captivating and Apricots and Wolfsbane, and teaches you much about the assassin world the author has created. Poison on the right and one’s poison of choice shows just what kind of assassin you are. Captivating, descriptive, and overall pleasing to read, I strongly recommend to all historical fiction lovers, murder lovers, and to all people in general.

Pin for Shadows of Hemlock review
Jenn and Sam weigh in on KM Pohlkamp’s Shadows of Hemlock

Buy the Book

This book is available from Amazon here:


Other books in the series:

Apricots & Wolfsbane (book 1)


Find out what we’re reading and what we’re loving in our monthly newsletter, Between the Lines. You can sign up for it here.

Thrice Read Books will use the information you provide on this form to be in touch with you and to provide updates and marketing. Please let us know all the ways you would like to hear from us:

You can change your mind at any time by clicking the unsubscribe link in the footer of any email you receive from us, or by contacting us at books@thricereadbooks.com. We will treat your information with respect. For more information about our privacy practices please visit our website. By clicking below, you agree that we may process your information in accordance with these terms.

We use Mailchimp as our marketing platform. By clicking below to subscribe, you acknowledge that your information will be transferred to Mailchimp for processing. Learn more about Mailchimp’s privacy practices here.

The Finish Line

**Note: This post may contain affiliate links. This means that when you click one of the links in this post and make a purchase, Thrice Read Books receives a small commission from the seller. We do not charge authors for our reviews and this does not cost you anything additional and does not impact the author’s royalties – it does allow us to continue bringing you ad-free content, and we thank you in advance for your support.**

Twitter for The Finish Line Review
Jenn reviews book 1 in Leslie Scott’s Arkadia Fast series, The Finish Line

About the Book

The Finish Line; Leslie Scott
Adult; Contemporary Romance; 368 Pages

The Wild Rose Press, Inc. (Champagne Rose) (December 11, 2017)

Another night at the races is more than burnt rubber with a hit of nitrous. For one young woman, it’s navigating trauma, love, and loss in the stifling Texas heat under the watchful gaze of her brother’s best friend and reigning King of the Streets, Jordan Slater. Home in Arkadia again, Raelynn Casey starts to heal from a terrible incident at college. She finds love in Jordan, a member of her brother’s circle of racing buddies. When another in the racing circle, the guy who took her to her high school prom, exposes his feelings for Raelynn, tragedy erupts like a tank of race fuel. Guilt, remorse, and pain must be overcome before Raelynn and Jordan can race to The Finish Line.

About the Author

Award-nominated author of Two Hearts, One Stone and the Arkadia Fast Series, Leslie Scott has been writing stories for as long as she can remember. The happier the ending, the better. Currently, she lives and writes amidst her own happily ever after with her soul mate, son, and a domestic zoo. http://lesliescottromance.com/

Jenn’s Review

Leslie Scott brings the high-octane, sizzling romance to her readers in book 1 of the Arkadia Fast series, The Finish Line.

Raelynn Casey comes from a family steeped in street racing, and she’s just returned home from a disastrous attempt at running away from everything she’s known. What else can a girl do when the man she’s loved all her life tells her he doesn’t want her? Problem is, running away only created more problems, and Raelynn isn’t about to tell her family, let alone her adrenaline junkie friends, any of whom would happily rearrange the face of the man who hurt her.

Jordan Slater? He tried his best to pretend he doesn’t want Raelynn, because one of his best friends would be crushed. But he can see the shadows lurking in Rae’s eyes, and with his own past haunting him, he finagles his way past her defenses to get to the painful truth.

As Jordan and Raelynn grow closer, will their love and friendship last when disaster claims the life of someone they both love?

Leslie Scott drives this story forward with emotional and sexual tension that pulls out all the stops. I’d already read book 2 in this series, and I was still swept away with every twist and turn in this plot. Hot contemporary romance at high speed.

Pin for The Finish Line review
Jenn reviews book 1 in Leslie Scott’s Arkadia Fast series, The Finish Line

Buy the Book

This book is available in Kindle, Audiobook and Paperback here.


Also by Leslie Scott

Two Hearts, One Stone (Stand-Alone Novella)
Hot Lap (Book 2 Arkadia Fast)
Full Tilt Boogie (Book 3, Arkadia Fast)
Author Interview, 2019
Updated Interview, 2020


Find out what we’re reading and what we’re loving in our monthly newsletter, Between the Lines. You can sign up for it here.

Thrice Read Books will use the information you provide on this form to be in touch with you and to provide updates and marketing. Please let us know all the ways you would like to hear from us:

You can change your mind at any time by clicking the unsubscribe link in the footer of any email you receive from us, or by contacting us at books@thricereadbooks.com. We will treat your information with respect. For more information about our privacy practices please visit our website. By clicking below, you agree that we may process your information in accordance with these terms.

We use Mailchimp as our marketing platform. By clicking below to subscribe, you acknowledge that your information will be transferred to Mailchimp for processing. Learn more about Mailchimp’s privacy practices here.