Tagged: Book Reviews

Lady Arabella and the Dwarven King – Review

Jenn Reviews Lady Arabella and the Dwarven King by Jaci Chandler this week on Thrice Read Books' review blog

About the Book:

Lady Arabella and the Dwarven King by Jaci Chandler

Dwarven Gold, book 1

Published by Amazon Digital Services, LLC on 28 January, 2018

98 pages Adult Erotic Romance

I’ve spent my life trying to ignore the haters. As strategies go–it’s not working.

Sealed into my room to lose weight, I’m kidnapped into a stunning underground world, where males outnumber females by a hundred to one. It doesn’t take long to discover I’m the fated mate of the newly ascended king, Thorin the Tenth. He’s loud, rude and arrogant, but I’m stunned by glimpses of his vulnerability, and find myself wanting to seize this chance at love. But Dwarfholme is changing, and Thorin is in danger. The gods have limits and enemies are everywhere. I’ve finally found the partner I’ve so desperately longed for, but is it love or just really good sex? With my future mother-in-law out to destroy us, and my mate’s childhood friend a bloodthirsty god, time is running out. I need to discover the truth between us, before it’s too late.

Lady Arabella and the Dwarven King is the first of six novellas in the DWARVEN GOLD fantasy erotic romance series. It is a complete story with no cliffhangers, a great HEA, and contains hot dwarfs who look like Vikings, a world on the verge of war, deadly royals, and lots of meant-to-be romance between fated mates.

If you like fun, steamy fantasy romance set in unique new worlds, Lady Arabella and the Dwarven King is for you. Buy your copy and start the adventure now!

About the Author:

Jaci Chandler lives in the mountains of the Pacific Northwest, where the trees grow close and tall, and the skies are a brilliant blue. She loves to sit on her deck, gaze at Mt. Rainier, and think about hot dwarfs and their fated mates. When she’s not writing the Dwarven Gold series, she’s making cake and thinking of adding recipes to the backs of her books. 

Talk to Jaci on Twitter or sign up for her newsletter. Just click the link (and let her know if you like lobster patties or Mont Blanc!)

Twitter    Newsletter

Jenn’s Review:

**NOTE: The Dwarven Gold series is adult erotica romance and is intended for mature audiences, over the age of 18, only.**

Lady Arabella and the Dwarven King is the first installment of a series I would easily classify as erotic romance. When Ms. Chandler contacted me about reviewing the first two books in her series, she warned me that this book has a polarizing effect. Readers either love it or they hate it.

I fall into the former group. This is a quick read – I read the entire book in a single 2 hour sitting – and it moves quickly through the plot.

While Arabella and Thorin are fated to be together, and they seem to be decently developed characters, I would have liked a bit more development of both characters and plot. The setting is beautifully wrought, full of the contrast of Dwarven stone work, magic and colored details. And sex. The story is liberally peppered with a variety of sexual tastes.

The love story in this plot takes a back seat to the hedonistic tendencies in Lady Arabella, and having not dived into book two in the series yet, I am hoping that this book is meant to set the stage for a longer plot line.

I loved the creativity, the world building, and the potential in this story. I missed deeper development of the relationship between hero and heroine, and I think too many loose ends were left flapping in the breeze.

But, once more unto the breach, dear readers! I’m off to read the second book in the series (linked below), and am crossing my fingers that loose ends are wrapped up.

On this edition of the Thrice Read Books blog, Jenn reviews Lady Arabella and the Dwarven King, book 1 in the Dwarven Gold series by Jaci Chandler

Buy the Book:

This book is available in Kindle and paperback editions from Amazon here. [affiliate link]

Other Books in the Series: 

Lady Deidra and the Lord of the Deeps (book 2)

Lady Deidra and the Lord of the Deeps – Review

Jenn Reviews book 2 in Jaci Chandler's Dwarven Gold series. Read about Lady Deidra and the Lord of the Deeps on the Thrice Read Books blog

About the Book:

Lady Deidra and the Lord of the Deeps book 2 in the Dwarven Gold series 

by Jaci Chandler

Published by Amazon Digital Services April 30, 2018

128 pages Adult Erotica Romance

My name is Deidra Cavendish and I need a rich man who’ll marry me, and take me and my mother off to a gilded castle filled with food and keep the bill collectors away, but deep down inside where my secret dreams live, I long for love. My only solace is my cousin, Arabella. She’s my best friend and confidante, and I think she was murdered. When an accident at the Cavendish Winter Ball sends me flying into the arms of a penniless nobody, my abrupt craving for him threatens to derail me. He’s poor and so am I; a relationship between us isn’t going to work! Even if he makes my blood simmer with longing.

My name is Jerred Bloodaxe. I am the Earl of Whitemarch; the King’s left-hand man. I fight behind the scenes to keep the kingdom safe, stop royal intrigues from turning into royal murder, and prevent assassins from killing my cousin, Thorin. Most importantly, I run politically sensitive and dangerous errands no sane dwarf will take. When Arabella, the queen-in-waiting, asks me to bring her cousin, Deidra, to safety in Dwarfholme, I immediately leave for Cavendish Castle. But it’s a different world where I have no power or resources, and bringing her back to her cousin is more difficult than it looks. Little do I know, fate has ways to bring two mates together, even if one is a Dwarven Lord and the other is a regency miss!

Lady Deidra and the Lord of the Deeps is the second of six books in the DWARVEN GOLD fantasy romance series. It is a complete story with no cliffhangers and contains hot dwarfs who look like Vikings, steamy m/m scenes, delicious cakes, a hidden world on the verge of war, vengeful gods, ex-lovers, trolls, zombies and “lots” of hot, steamy romance between two mates who are lost without each other.

If you like a spicy clash of personalities, a vulnerable, but deadly hero, and a unique fantasy world, you’ll like Lady Deidra and the Lord of the Deeps! Buy your copy now and feel the love.

About the Author:

Jaci Chandler lives in the mountains of the Pacific Northwest, where the trees grow close and tall, and the skies are a brilliant blue. She loves to sit on her deck, gaze at Mt. Rainier, and think about hot dwarfs and their fated mates. When she’s not writing the Dwarven Gold series, she’s making cake and thinking of adding recipes to the backs of her books. 

Talk to Jaci on Twitter or sign up for her newsletter. Just click the link (and let her know if you like lobster patties or Mont Blanc!)

Twitter     Newsletter

Jenn’s Review:

 **NOTE: The Dwarven Gold series is adult erotica romance and is intended for mature audiences, over the age of 18, only.**

Another speedy installment to the Dwarven Gold series by Jaci Chandler, Lady Deidre was a hot little erotic romance.

Deidre was left behind when Arabella was taken by the dwarves expeditionary forces in the previous book, and her situation is probably more tenuous than Arabella’s was. She’s desperate to find a wealthy husband before her family’s house party ends.

Jerred is fighting his own demons when his king sends him after Arabella’s cousin, Deidre. It’s definitely not love at first sight, though he knows Deidre is his fated mate. 

As with book 1, I enjoyed the world building, and the little plot twists, but I would love to see these stories developed a bit more. There are copious amounts of hot sexual interaction with a thread of romance tying it all together. Ms. Chandler has written stories with good conflicts, but I felt rushed through the resolution.

That said, Jaci Chandler is on my list of authors to watch. She has tremendous potential in her writing career, and I look forward to her next release.

on the Thrice Read Books blog: Jenn reviews Lady Deidra and the Lord of the Deeps - book 2 in the Dwarven Gold series by Jaci Chandler

Buy the book:

This book is available in Kindle edition from Amazon here. [affiliate link]

Other Books in the Series: 

Lady Arabella and the Dwarven King (book 1)

Evercrossed – Review

Sam's Teen Reads Corner features YA Paranormal fiction, Evercrossed by Elizabeth Chandler

About the book:

Evercrossed (Kissed by an Angel, book 4) by Elizabeth Chandler

Published by Simon Pulse March 8, 2011

YA Romance, Fantasy and Supernatural 304 pages

It’s been a year since Ivy’s boyfriend, Tristan, died. They’ve both moved on—Tristan to the other side of the afterlife, and Ivy to sweet, dependable Will. Now Ivy’s heading to Cape Cod, hoping to leave the horror of last summer behind. She wants nothing more than to lie on the beach, sip lemonade, and hang out with her friends.

But then a car crash ends Ivy’s life. As she floats to the beyond, looking down on the life she’s left behind, Tristan breathes life back into her with a passionate kiss. She wakes up in the hospital, surrounded by Will and her family, but all she can think about is the love that she lost.

But memories aren’t all that’s come back from the past. And this time, Ivy’s not sure love will be enough to save her….

About the Author:

Elizabeth Chandler is a pseudonym for Mary Claire Helldorfer. She is the author of the Kissed by an Angel and Dark Secrets series. She lives in Baltimore, Maryland.

Sam’s Review:

Elizabeth Chandler has written an okay story, named Evercrossed, about angels, humans, and love. I wasn’t a fan of the book, but it was still good. The book is part of a series, and it isn’t the first.

Last summer, Ivy lost Tristan, the love of her life, to somebody trying to kill her. Now, on the her anniversary of her relationship with Tristan, she has to put up with guilt. But once again, she is in danger. And her new boyfriend, Will, or Tristan, may not be able to help her.

I didn’t really enjoy this book, because it wasn’t my type, like I thought it was. It didn’t hold my interest, which is a shame, because it was a very interesting concept. The characters were well developed, and the setting was well done.

Sam's Teen Reads Corner features Evercrossed by Elizabeth Chandler (Book 4 in the Kissed by an Angel series)

Buy the book:

Thrice Read Books has 1 paperback edition

This book is also available in Kindle, hardcover, paperback, audiobook and Audio CD MP3 editions from Amazon here. [affiliate link]

The South Winds – Review

Jenn reviews THE SOUTH WINDS, a new Adult Contemporary Romance from author Allison Mullinax and Fiery Seas Publishing on the Thrice Read Books blog

About the book:

The South Winds  by Allison Mullinax

Contemporary Romance Fiery Seas Everlasting

August 7, 2018

Cassie Ray, manager of her family’s successful oyster house, has never asked for much out of life. The sun, surf, and sand are her companions. The regulars and tourists that flock to The Slippery Oyster are her livelihood. But when the Atlantic kicks up a hurricane, sending waves of black water threatening the coast, Cassie quickly learns that the south winds have blown in a lot more than debris and saltwater.

Dean Alexander left Turquoise Isle eight years ago and never looked back. With his sister’s wedding approaching, and a hurricane churning in the Gulf, Dean returns home, where he’s welcomed with a rip tide of memories determined to pull him under.

Will Cassie and Dean make it through the crashing waves of the past? Will they get a second chance before it’s too late or will the storm ahead be too much for them to handle?

About the author:

Allison Mullinax - Author of The South Winds

North Alabama native, Allison Mullinax, grew up in the small lake town of Guntersville, AL. She discovered the escapism and addiction of writing at an early age. Today she remains a lover of reading, all things outdoors, and spending time with her husband and three daughters. 

Allison’s Social Media: 

Website     Facebook     Twitter

Jenn’s Review:

I’ve read everything that Allison Mullinax has put out through Fiery Seas. This woman totally rocks the emotional gut wrench. Toss her aptitude for plot twists and sucking the reader in deep on top of my weakness for a second-chance romance into the bargain, and you have The South Winds.
Dean and Cassie have been avoiding each other and their painful past for eight years; but Dean’s sister is getting married, and a series of not-quite coincidences throws Dean into Cassie’s path, with a hurricane looming off the coast of their little hometown.

Between Dean’s well-meaning mother and younger sister, and Cassie’s hunky, handy, good-looking and male best friend (whom Dean mistakes for Cassie’s boyfriend before he is bluntly informed is married…and gay), the broken couple doesn’t stand a chance of staying away from each other or the painful conversations they’ve been avoiding.
The South Winds is another quick read from Ms. Mullinax. She deftly captures life in a small tourist town, and leads her reader down a lovely, romantic plot path, only to twist things just enough at the right moment. Fans of the second chance romance, here’s your next weekend read.

On this edition of the Thrice Read Books review blog, Jenn reviews another new release from Adult Contemporary Romance author Allison Mullinax - The South Winds - Now available from Fiery Seas Publishing

Buy the book:

Fiery Seas Pub Bookstore     Amazon     Barnes & Noble     Kobo

Tribute – Review

Sam reviews Chris Knoblough's Middle Grade Horror novel TRIBUTE in this edition of the Thrice Read Books review blog

About the Book:

Tribute by Chris Knoblaugh (The Cleaners, book 1)

Middle Grade Horror/Latino Fiction 255 pages

Self-published through Amazon Digital Services, LLC April 13, 2018 

When twelve-year-old Miguel’s gang member Papa makes promises to Santa Muerte, someone in Miguel’s family loses a soul. The last time, it was Miguel’s gentle aunt. This time, the target is Miguel’s brother, Juan.

Santa Muerte, the skeletal patron saint of drug traffickers and murderers, always claims her fee.

The trouble is Miguel won’t let Juan’s spirit go. The resulting paranormal possession attracts demons, doppelgangers, and an ancient soul slayer from the depths of Hell — all of whom must be vanquished if Miguel is to live. 

Even with help, Miguel’s refusal to release Juan threatens the lives of those Miguel loves most. Miguel must choose to release his brother or lose yet another loved one, for the bargain was made with Santa Muerte and the price must be paid.

About the Author:

Chris Knoblaugh runs Dancing with Words Tutoring along with her husband, Mark Dooley. She currently teaches English at a middle school in south San Jose, California. Her interests have expanded to include self-publishing and blogging. Her blog, https://dancingwithwordstutoring.blogspot.com, is structured to help reluctant students learn to be comfortable with writing. She and her husband live in California with more books than necessary and two rescue kitties. Her much beleaguered daughter, Monica, holds her own in this raucous family.

Chris has a B.A.in English Literature with High College Honors, a B.S. in Biology, and an M.A. in Teaching with Reading Specialization. Her novels and stories incorporate myths, cryptids, regional traditions, and historical settings. She enjoys writing for her students and for her tutoring business. You can find her at her blog, at FaceBook, or at Twitter.

Happy hauntings!

Sam’s Review:

Welcome to the land of Tribute, AKA, a book about demons, possession, and a heck ton of danger and ghosts. Tribute was written by Chris Knoblaugh, and is about a Mexican-American family living in San Jose, California.

Miguel has lost his brother, Juan, and is bound determined to find his killer. But Juan hasn’t found his peace, and is stuck in purgatory. This makes him a ghost, and when Miguel ticks him off, he summons a ton of demons that put him and his loved ones in danger.

For me, this book was a trip to crazy town, with a whole bunch happening at once. Several times, I had to shake my head and go, “what? Just, what?” Please know that this book has swearing, and some violent moments, mainly about the demons. It was still interesting, though.

On this edition of Sam's Teen Reads Corner, Sam faces Santa Muerte in Chris Knoblaugh's middle grade horror novel, TRIBUTE

Buy the Book:

 This book is available from Amazon in Kindle format only, here. [affiliate link]

Additional Information about this book:

 Ms. Knoblough was featured in her hometown newspaper about the same time she submitted her request for review. She talks more about her motivation behind writing and publishing Tribute. You can read the story here.

The Jinx – Promotion & Excerpt

Thrice Read Books hosts a blog tour stop for THE JINX by Ernest Lancaster, with chapter excerpt
Thrice Read Books is a stop on the blog tour for Ernest Lancaster's debut novel, The Jinx.

About the Book:

The Jinx     By Ernest Lancaster

Series: Memphis M.O. Book 1

Fiery Seas Publishing     July 24, 2018

Suspense / Action

Disaster strikes and innocents die as police sniper Rick Munro is plagued by a first-call jinx. As his career takes off, he must overcome his rookie mistakes, and keep his team members safe.

When Munro returns to TACT as a newly promoted lieutenant, the jinx torments him still. He must contend with team members’ rival agendas around every turn. Munro finds himself in a battle he can’t escape as corruption and death unfold around him.

Who can he trust? Will Munro break the streak or will it destroy everything he believes in?

About the Author:

Ernest Lancaster retired from the Memphis Police Department as a captain after serving as a cop for thirty-three years.

In the early seventies Lancaster spent two years walking a night beat in downtown Memphis, when The Peabody and Beale Street lay boarded up and crumbling and the center city became a dystopian ghost town after dark. He patrolled in ward cars, trooped for three days through a sea of pilgrims to Elvis’s funeral, edited the Memphis Police Association’s newspaper and acted as the association’s vice-president. For twenty-six years he held positions on the TACT Squad.

Lancaster now resides with his wife and Yorkie in the Smoky Mountains, where they love to hike and camp.

Social Media:

FacebookTwitterWebsite

Buy the Book:

This book is available in paperback and Kindle versions at these outlets:

Fiery Seas Pub Bookstore   Amazon   Barnes & Noble    Kobo

Excerpt, Chapter Eleven (reprinted with permission of the author & publisher)

Vickie delivered a plate and silverware, wrapped in a napkin, to the booth. She set a cheeseburger with a generous serving of thick, golden fries, and a pickle spear in front of him.

“More coffee?”

Munro edged his cup over. “Sure.” He turned to Loretta. “Want a burger? The kitchen is about to close.”

“You trying to make me fat?”

“We have a salad left,” Vickie said.

“No, thanks. Coffee’s plenty.”

Munro reached for his wallet. “How much do I owe?”

Vickie jutted out her palm. “It’s on the house. We’re glad to see you pass through at night.”

“How much are they usually?” he asked.

“Four dollars.”

Munro counted out bills from his wallet. “Here, take three. I’ll pay half price with a dollar tip.”

“Suit yourself.” She took the money.

Loretta’s gaze followed Vickie as she made her way back to the counter. “You know she just put your money in her pocket. Now she’s writing in her ledger, ‘one free burger to the police.’”

“Good for her,” he said. “I bet she works hard for her money.”

“Had to pay, huh? You have a guilty conscience?”

Munro opened the bun and sprinkled the meat with pepper. “Who doesn’t?”

“Good question.” She watched him with wary eyes as he dotted his fries with spots of ketchup. “So, you’re only half corrupt?”

He looked up. “Half price doesn’t hurt a business. I’m not a Boy Scout, but it helps keep me from straying over the double-yellow line head-on into stuffing my pockets or my belly at the public’s expense.”

“Are most cops corrupt?”

He shook his head. “No. Only a few are rotten to their core. And their stench tends to float to the surface. But on the streets in the real world, good and bad wear more faces than a diamond.” He took a hungry bite out of his half-price burger. “And beauty lies in the eye of the beholder.”

She touched her finger to her cheek and traced the scar down her face to where it crevassed her lip. “How can you be a cop if you can’t tell the difference between right and wrong?”

“Easy,” he said. “The almighty law is written down in black and white for any moron to read. And I do know the difference. It’s just that I’ve been around the block enough to know if you ride tall on a white horse through the mud all the time, the only thing you do is turn the horse black.”

“What about justice?”

“Justice? Whose? Movie heroes chase justice.” He stared out onto Madison Avenue. “Real cops, spilling their souls in the streets, are too busy trying to survive to worry about justice. That and clawing to hold onto a bit of their sanity—on a good day.”

She cocked a brow. “Aren’t you supposed to help people?”

“Don’t you see?” he asked. “I help people every day, every chance I get. That’s what I get paid for. And there’s never a shortage of people down and out on their luck needing it. But too many want help screwing someone in the ground to satisfy a grudge or escaping the consequences of their own foolishness.”

He took a slug of coffee like whiskey, and recoiled at its heat. “But if you keep your head down and your antennae up, every once in a while you can climb out of the muck and save some poor schmo who’s buried in disaster. Or make a difference in a kid’s life. Maybe even hammer a predator who deserves it. Those are the things that make it all worthwhile. But most of it is just madness you ride out.”

“Man.” She stared as if he were some offbeat poet ranting in the street. “Your eggs are scrambled.”

Jenn sat down and interviewed Mr. Lancaster about his debut novel, The Jinx, and published the transcript in our newsletter, Between the Lines. You can read the article here.

Reaper’s Return – Review

About the Book

Reaper’s Return, Ren Cummins (Chronicles of

Aesirium, book 1)

Young Adult Fantasy/Steampunk 302 pages

Self-published through CreateSpace March 10, 2011

What if Death wore a pretty black dress?

Everyone in Oldtown had heard talk of the Reapers. Even though nobody had seen one in years, everyone whispered the tales: flying from rooftop to rooftop, stealing the souls of the unwary, letting their undead beasts hunt through the streets for any member of the community too reckless or fearless to heed the nightly curfew … mysterious and terrifying, most feared to even mention them by name, lest they appear and gather your spirit away.

For 11-year-old Romany, her greatest fears were less about the mythological Reapers and more about surviving a miserable life inside of Oldtown’s solitary orphanage. Her stark white hair made her an obvious target for the bullies, and the cruel nickname of “Ratgirl” had followed her for years. But if Rom thought her troubles were behind her, being struck dead by a bolt of lightning would only open the door to an entire life of new ones.

First on the list? Finding out that she herself…is a Reaper.

Reaper’s Return is book one of the Chronicles of Aesirium, a YA Steampunk fantasy adventure series.

About the Author

Sam, Ren Cummins, & YA Author Kiri Callaghan at Westport's Pirate Daze, 2018

(Sam, Ren Cummins, and Kiri Callaghan at this year’s Pirate Daze in Westport, WA. Ren was kind enough to gift a signed copy of this book to Sam when we met him.)

Ren Cummins found his talent with storytelling in high school and has been writing ever since; either music or fiction. With a focus on creating kick-ass female characters in superhero stories for his child, Ren launched into the world of fantasy and sci-fi, where his love of philosophy and the bleeding edge of science returned him to tall tales that seemed fantastic but with an air of familiarity. 

He has authored over eight fantasy novels, beginning with The Chronicles of Aesirium and continuing on with the Tales of the Dead Man.

Ren continues his writing journey in Seattle, where he resides with his wife, their child and their two dogs.

More of this traveler’s journey can be found at www.renwritings.com

Sam’s Review

Introducing, a fun, and amazing book by the name of Reaper’s Return, filled with magic, and some themes of steampunk, which I love. Plus, it had talking animals! Alright!

Rom has a gift for handling animals. And, she’s dead. Kind of. She dies once, and then revives it all over, with the knowledge of what was going to happen. Then she learns that she is the Reaper, a entity that helps creatures move on to death.

But she is being hunted for her ability. It’s a really good thing that Rom has good friends.

I loved this book from beginning to cliffhanger end. That’s right, folks, it had a cliffhanger, sort of. But I loved this book. Rom, Kari, Cousins (gotta read it to find out how that name came to be.), and Mully are an amazing team, and work great together.

In this edition of Sam's Teen Reads Corner, Sam reviews YA Fantasy REAPER'S RETURN by Ren Cummins.

Buy the Book

 This book is available in Kindle (Kindle Unlimited, as well), paperback and audiobook formats from Amazon here. [affiliate link]

The Bombshell Business Woman – Review

About the Book

The Bombshell Business Woman, AMber Hurdle

Teen to Adult, Business, 207 Pages

Clovercroft Publishing (October 1, 2017)

A Bombshell Business Woman at her best stands proud in who she is and what she offers, abandoning the whirlwind of uncertainty. A Bombshell commands attention for her business, attracting the right customers, who fall in love with her brand experience. Her business allows her to live life on her terms so she can enjoy her family, friends, and her abundant life.

You are a Bombshell. You might just need to learn how to embrace your inner Bombshell without falling out of balance, feeling overwhelmed, or allowing your business to run you.

The Bombshell Business Woman will serve as your guide to do just that. You will learn practical strategies to master branding, marketing, management, networking, goal setting, time management, vendor relationships, technology, and more. With easy to digest business advice and real-life stories that will inspire you to step into who you were designed to be, The Bombshell Business Woman will activate the bold, brave, and successful female entrepreneur within you.

About the Author

Amber Hurdle understands what it takes to accelerate success. A former teen mom who evolved into a powerhouse businesswoman, Amber has worked with international celebrities and Fortune 500 companies alike. Whether she is empowering female entrepreneurs, teaching them out-of-the-box business strategies, or energizing and educating leadership to boldly next-level their employee engagement, Amber leverages her vast experience throughout multiple entrepreneurial, corporate, and institutional cultures. As the author of The Bombshell Business Woman, and popular host of the Bombshell Business Podcast, Amber’s straight-shooting “velvet machete” and warm personality never fail to motivate professionals to strategically up their game in business and in life.

Amber holds a degree in Public Relations and Advertising, a dual minor in Marketing and Organizational Communication, and an ACC certification from the International Coaching Federation. She has been featured in national publications such as Reader’s Digest and InStyle magazine, and as an employee engagement expert in the upper division-level textbook Applied Public Relations: Cases in Stakeholder Management, 3rd edition, by Kathy Brittain Richardson and Marcie Hinton.

A family woman and friend who loves hard, Amber lives just outside of Nashville with her husband and children. There she enjoys exploring the food scene, cooking with her family and friends, and being a bona fide gym junkie.

Amber offers additional advice and resources on her website, amberhurdle.com, and can be found on Twitter at @amberhurdle.

Jenn’s Review

Ladies! Yes you! The one in the back of the room, trying to hide because, as big as your dreams are, you’re afraid that if you step out into the spotlight, they’ll figure out you’re a fraud. Yup. I’m totally talking to you.

I met Amber Hurdle on Twitter, and when I saw that she had a book for women entrepreneurs, I had to go check it out. I had RWA 2018 National Conference coming up. I run two businesses (at least, I pretended to for the longest time), and couldn’t seem to make any headway in building either. After I read the synopsis of Amber’s book, I bought it. No dithering, no joke. It shot straight to the top of my TBR pile.

The Bombshell Business Woman is all about growing up as a person AND a brand, building your company from the ground up, even if it’s a one-woman show. Amber doesn’t pull any punches – she’s been at the bottom, and speaks straight to the heart of the struggle that fempreneurs face every day.

The book comes with several workbooks that you can download, so that you are actively putting her steps into practice. And it includes a book club guide so you can build your own Bombshell Squad of like-minded women to read and grow side by side with. (I’m looking to facilitate my own Bombshell Squad group over at my Sage Wolfsong page on Facebook, IM me if you’re serious about making your business take off)

BOMBSHELL BUSINESS WOMAN by Amber Hurdle - Jenn's review on the Thrice Read Books blog - Fempreneur, Women in Business, Nonfiction

Buy the Book

 This book is available in Kindle and in paperback editions from Amazon here. [affiliate link]

The Redeemed – Review

About the Book

The Redeemed by Matthew S Cox (RoadHouse Chronicles)

Adult Sci-Fi Post-Apocalyptic 

Curiosity Quills Press (December 18, 2017)

The worst part about chasing one’s dream is catching it.

Six months ago, Kevin opened a Roadhouse of his own. No longer the idiot braving the dangerous post-nuclear highways of 2073, he thought he’d finally grow old and happy selling bullets, beds, and booze to those still foolish enough to get behind the wheel.

Then, he’d met her.

The white-haired outcast from the xenophobic Enclave crashed into his life, becoming the conscience he never wanted and everything he desired. She couldn’t save the world from the Virus, but she could save Kevin’s dream.

A biker gang calling themselves the Redeemed starts shooting up Roadhouses in flagrant disregard of the Code, shattering the serenity of his humble waystation. When the long-vaunted retribution of Amarillo’s army fails to materialize, Kevin feels more like a sitting duck than he ever did on the road―but it’s not his ‘house he fears losing.

Determined to protect her, he takes it upon himself to enforce the unwritten law of the Roadhouse.

About the Author

Originally from South Amboy NJ, Matthew has been creating science fiction and fantasy worlds for most of his reasoning life. Since 1996, he has developed the “Divergent Fates” world, in which Division Zero, Virtual Immortality, The Awakened Series, The Harmony Paradox, and the Daughter of Mars series take place.

Matthew is an avid gamer, a recovered WoW addict, Gamemaster for two custom systems, and a fan of anime, British humour, and intellectual science fiction that questions the nature of reality, life, and what happens after it.

He is also fond of cats.

Jenn’s Review

After being pulled away from the series for a bit, I finally finished Matthew S. Cox’s The Redeemed. The story of Kevin and Tris continues and the mysteries surrounding the events after the end of the world deepen.

Kevin finally has his Roadhouse, his life long goal achieved. Except, his dream is starting to turn into a nightmare. The long-respected Code is being ignored, Roadhouse owners are dying, the Virus is spreading in strange circumstances, and Amarillo isn’t all it once seemed.

Tris and Kevin are pulled in opposite directions, as she tries to unravel the growing mysteries surrounding Amarillo and rescue the survivors of an impossible Virus outbreak.

Kevin has to leave his ‘house in the hands of virtual strangers to chase down then who murdered his long-time friend and mentor, only to discover that things are not what they seemed; and he must reconcile what is with the fading satisfaction of finally having a safe, stable life.

MAD MAX meets DIVERGENT in this post-apocalyptic, science fiction thriller with a thread of romance. Book 3 is due out in a few months; so we won’t have to wait long to resolve the bit of cliffhanger readers are left with. I’d toss this book in the New Adult category, along with One More Run, for some sexual content (book two has less than book one). The language is mild, and there is moderate violence.

THE REDEEMED by Matthew S. Cox, book 2 in the Roadhouse Chronicles - Review by Jenn on the Thrice Read Books blog

Buy the Book

 This book is available from Amazon in Kindle edition here. [affiliate link]

Other Books in this Series:

One More Run (Book 1)

Inclement Gods – Review

About the book:

When you live in a world pullulating with gods, can you truly be an atheist? Well, yes…if you know a way to get rid of them. Mysantheos, a fanatic atheist at the head of a powerful lobby/terrorist organization, has created a weapon able to kill gods and his kamikaze army is ready to attack.

As the divine bodies pile up, resentment builds at Gods Incorporated and violent factions start pushing for the extermination of the human race, and the CEO/Queen Louhi is running out of ideas to calm them down. Hopefully, her black ops teams are doing better. But will the Nerds and Richard (a down-on-his-luck private eye), saddled as they are with a group of angry gods, manage to find Mysantheos before all hell breaks loose?

About the author:

Gabriele Russo

Gabriele Russo was born in Quebec City amidst a family of book lovers – her father had dreamed of being a writer and both of her brothers are published authors. 

Since she earned her Bachelor’s in History, it was no surprise (except to her) that she ended up working in restaurants, eventually owning two, which almost drove her mad. She sold them and was nursed back to pseudo-sanity by Douglas Adams and Terry Pratchett. 

That’s when she answered the family calling and decided to write. Armed with her ideas for the Gods Inc. series she went back to University and got her Master’s in Creative Writing.

She now lives with her husband in Virginia, where she divides her time between painting, teaching French and Creative Writing, playing tennis and, of course, writing more books.

Sam’s Review:

Just to let you guys know ahead of time, this book and it’s predecessor aren’t exactly kid appropriate. Just to let all the people looking for a new book for their little sibling, not appropriate. Sorry guys.

Humans are turning away from the gods and turning to science to explain their world. Thor and the weather gods are trying to get the other gods to kill all humans. God, AKA, the Big G (yes, God’s in this too), is most definitely against this. Just thought I should point this out now.

Not only are humans being, well, humans (no offense), gods are dying. Yes, dying. I know, I know, god’s can’t die. That’s the problem here! And the gods know it! And thus the search begins for how gods can die, and the dumb mortal who can kill them.

Okay, that’s the book in a nutshell, with a sort-of-cliffhanger. Okay, I told you guys that that this series isn’t for young kids? I mean, if letting them read books with cursing and stuff like that works for you, more power to you. I just wouldn’t recommend it.

Okay, this book gets three of five stars because I am just, not feeling this series because, as I have said before, the concept didn’t call out to me. It didn’t really hold my interest, which, if you’re like me and can’t really read a book that doesn’t hold your interest, makes it hard to read. Really, the only thing I look forward to in this series is Louhi, but even then it’s still hard to read when my mind isn’t so into the story that I jump when my timer goes off on my screen.

Sorry to insult any readers of this series. I like stories of gods, but this just doesn’t do it for me. 

Buy the book:

This book is available on Amazon in Kindle and paperback editions here. [affiliate link]

Other books in the series: 

Incompetent Gods