Tagged: Book Reviews

Highland Retribution – Review

**Note: This post may contain affiliate links. This means that when you click one of the links in this post and make a purchase, Thrice Read Books receives a small commission from the seller. We do not charge authors for our reviews and this does not cost you anything additional and does not impact the author’s royalties – it does allow us to continue bringing you ad-free content, and we thank you in advance for your support.**

Jenn reviews Keira Montclair's historical romance novel, Highland Retribution
Jenn reviews Keira Montclair’s historical romance novel, Highland Retribution

About the Book

Highland Retribution,  Keira Montclair, The Band of Cousins Volume 3

Adult, Historical Romance

Keira Montclair (June 17, 2018)

They stole everything from her. With his help, she’ll finally get it back. Braden Grant is haunted by the death of his friend Ronan, who took his own life. No one knows why the warrior resorted to such desperate measures, but Braden blames himself. He won’t feel settled until he’s atoned for failing to save his friend, and when he meets Cairstine Muir, he wonders if he’s finally found his chance. Held against her will by the very man who killed her family, the lass is a prisoner in her own keep. Her beauty and quiet strength call to him as much as her situation urges him to fight. Though life has taught her harsh lessons, Cairstine still has an ember of hope in her heart. She longs to escape her captors and exact vengeance on them, but nothing is more important to her than her wee son’s safety. Though she failed to save her family, she pledges she will always save him, come what may. When a strong, handsome defender steps into her life, promising to help her exact vengeance on her captors, she sees the opportunity she’s waited for…but is the possibility of a new life worth the risk to her son?

About the Author

Keira Montclair is the pen name of an author who lives in Florida with her husband. She loves to write fast-paced, emotional romance, especially with children as secondary characters in her stories. 
She has worked as a registered nurse in pediatrics and recovery room nursing. Teaching is another of her loves, as she has taught both high school mathematics and practical nursing.

Now she loves to spend her time writing, but there isn’t enough time to write everything she wants! Her Highlander Clan Grant Series is a reader favorite is a series of eight stand-alone novels. The Summerhill Series is a contemporary romance series set in the beautiful Finger Lakes Region in Western New York. Her third series, The Highland Clan, is set twenty years after the Clan Grant Series and will focus on the Grant/Ramsay descendants. Her newest series is The Soulmate Chronicles, historical romance with a touch of paranormal. 

You may contact her through her website at www.keiramontclair.com. She also has a Facebook account and a twitter account through Keira Montclair. If you send her an email through her website, she promises to respond.

Jenn’s Review

It’s been a while since I’ve sat down with a romance I knew I could finish in an afternoon. Highland Retribution was on my TBR pile, and I figured I’d breeze through it during one of our family reading nights.

Highland Retribution is aahistorical romance set in 1280’s Scotland, and features Braden Grant and Caistine Muir – two young people with vastly different upbringings.

Braden has a quick and violent temper, but he’s been raised to do the right thing, to never hit those more vulnerable than himself, and to protect women and children. He’s recently lost his closet friend to apparent suicide, and the brief encounter with a beautiful young stranger seems to have had a powerful impact on him. Every instinct inside Braden drives him to seek her out and learn more about her situation – little does he know that learning about her will draw him and his cousins into danger and deeper into an on going mystery surrounding apparent child trafficking.

Cairstine is in a bad situation – the man who killed her entire clan has been holding her hostage for 6 years, their child is the shackles he uses to control her. When she encounters the handsome stranger at a wedding feast that she and her captor were not invited to, her heart begs the heavens to send him to help her. But first, she needs to make sure her son is safe, and her journey out of captivity is a rollercoaster of emotions and danger.

This is a quick read. Not the best romance I’ve read lately, but certainly a satisfying read. The characters don’t always have distinct voices, which was a disappointment – this is the third book in a series, and I would expect that at this point, the author would have sufficiently developed her characters and their voices. Aside from that, if you enjoy hunky Scotsmen, action, and mystery, snag this book for a quiet evening reading.

Jenn reviews Keira Montclair's historical romance novel, Highland Retribution
Jenn reviews Keira Montclair’s historical romance novel, Highland Retribution

Buy the Book

 This book is available from Amazon in Kindle, audiobook, and paperback editions. [affiliate link]

Off the Map – Review

**Note: This post may contain affiliate links. This means that when you click one of the links in this post and make a purchase, Thrice Read Books receives a small commission from the seller. We do not charge authors for our reviews and this does not cost you anything additional and does not impact the author’s royalties – it does allow us to continue bringing you ad-free content, and we thank you in advance for your support.**

Jenn reviews Sierra Dean's Adult Action/Suspense Romance OFF THE MAP
Jenn reviews Sierra Dean’s Adult Action/Suspense Romance Off the Map

About the Book

Off the Map, Sierra Dean

Adult, Romantic Suspense, 220 Pages

Sierra Dean (October 2, 2018)

Her last job won’t be a day at the beach.

Harper Barton has one reason and one reason only to be in Colombia, and it isn’t for fun in the sun. As an expert in “acquiring” antiquities, she’s been tasked with collecting a valuable necklace from a gala. The problem? A drug kingpin wants the piece for himself, and won’t let a cat burglar get in his way.

Diego Morales is in Colombia doing research for his next book. The mild-mannered professor was expecting dusty books and boring lecture halls, not a beautiful woman sweeping him onto the dance floor and planting a kiss on him before being chased out of the building by armed guards.

Harper and Diego find themselves neck-deep in trouble when they’re kidnapped by the drug kingpin, but things go from bad to worse when they both go overboard and end up lost in the middle of the Colombian jungle. Can they stay alive long enough to get home? Can they stop fighting long enough to realize there’s more than just jungle heat simmering between them?

Off the Map is high-stakes adventure with spark, snark, and plenty of danger. 

About the Author


Sierra Dean is a reformed historian. She was born and raised in the Canadian prairies and is allowed annual exit visas in order to continue her quest of steadily conquering the world one city at a time. Making the best of the cold Canadian winters, Sierra indulges in her less global interests: drinking too much tea and writing urban fantasy.

Ever since she was a young girl she has loved the idea of the supernatural coexisting with the mundane. As an adult, however, the idea evolved from the notion of fairies in flower beds, to imagining that the rugged-looking guy at the garage might secretly be a werewolf. She has used her overactive imagination to create her own version of the world, where vampire, werewolves, fairies, gods and monsters all walk among us, and she’ll continue to travel as much as possible until she finds it for real.

Jenn’s Review

Indiana Jones meets Tomb Raider in Sierra Dean’s action romantic suspense Off the Map, complete with a snarky, dare-devil heroine and anthropology professor (albeit far less daring) hero.

Harper Barton’s career as a specialty cat burgler goes sideways as the intelligence reports for a quick grab-and-go job in Columbia turns out to be utterly wrong. In an effort to get out alive, she wrangles an unassuming man into a dance at the museum gala, plants her prize in his pocket, steals a hot kiss and attempts to make a getaway.

Diego can’t believe his luck. He’s in Columbia to study some artifacts that appear to be from a lost warrior culture, and has a speech to give at the museum gala. So far, his trip has been less than exciting, and his sister back home has pestered him for years to have an adventure. When the beautiful woman who invited him to dance kisses him so passionately that he can’t wait to see her again, he thinks he might finally accomplish his sister’s challenge.

Until the beautiful woman dashes away, with armed guards on her heels.

The pair alternate between attraction and bickering over the course of the ensuing days, trying to survive their explosive escape from captivity and certain death at the hands of Columbia’s most notorious and insane drug lord. Free of his clutches, can Harper and Diego survive the jungle to make it back to safety?

I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. Dean’s world-building and character development are spot-on. The tension, both sexual and plot, kept me reading long past bedtime, and her twists in the plot kept me guessing what misfortune might befall the couple right up to the end.

This was a satisfying story, but I felt it ended very abruptly. Ms. Dean does suggest that this may have a sequel, but with so little space between the couple’s reunion and the end… The only other down-side of my review of the book is that the editing was incomplete, but not so much as to make the book unreadable.

Off the Map is an adult read, steamy, without edging off into erotica. Action-packed, thrilling, and immersive, this one gets a thumbs up.

Jenn reviews Sierra Dean's Adult Action/Suspense Romance OFF THE MAP
Jenn reviews Sierra Dean’s Adult Action/Suspense Romance Off the Map

Buy the Book

 This book is available on Amazon in Kindle and paperback format here:

Marjorie Diaz’s Unfortunate Introduction to Magical High Society – Review

**Note: This post may contain affiliate links. This means that when you click one of the links in this post and make a purchase, Thrice Read Books receives a small commission from the seller. We do not charge authors for our reviews and this does not cost you anything additional and does not impact the author’s royalties – it does allow us to continue bringing you ad-free content, and we thank you in advance for your support.**

Jenn reviews Desdemona Wren's NA Paranormal Novel MARJORIE DIAZ'S UNFORTUNATE INTRODUCTION TO MAGICAL HIGH SOCIETY - diverse books - LGBTQA FIction
Jenn reviews Desdemona Wren’s NA Paranormal Novel Marjorie Diaz’s Unfortunate Introduction to Magical High Society

About the Book

Marjorie Diaz’s Unfortunate Introduction to Magical High Society, Desdemona Wren

Adult, NA Paranormal, 339 Pages

Publisher: Antler Doe Publishing; 1 edition (September 4, 2018)

Girl meets boy. Girl falls in love with boy. Boy hunts girl for sport.

Marjorie Diaz has no idea who Patrick Watkins is. When he saunters into her senior seminar class during her last semester of college, the last thing she expects is to fall in love with him. 

She’s swept up into a whirlwind—and often times fairytale-esque—romance. That is, until his family kidnaps her and sends her to the last place she ever thought she would go again. 

Now, with the help of her best friend Lucian Maravalle, she has to run for her life, and try not to think too hard about the fact that everyone important to her has been keeping a dangerous secret. A secret that could cost Marjorie her life.

Book one in the Marjorie Diaz series.

Cover art by Ariel LeAnn of Cat’s Paw Media

This title is LGBTQIA+ and features a full POC cast.

About the Author

Desdemona Wren is a novelist who writes gay fiction with monsters, witches, and actual plots. She’s from Seattle, WA, but currently resides in the mystical land of Northern California. Where everybody wears coats all the time, nobody says ‘brah’, ‘bruh’, ‘bro’ or any variation of that word, and absolutely nobody surfs.

She has two cats named Oliver and Ophelia who have traveled the world. From The Great Smoky Mountains, to the tallest peaks of The Cascades, and even to the Grand Canyon; they’ve been everywhere. For more information on future books, visit her website at http://desdemonawren.com

Jenn’s Review

New Adult fiction isn’t something I generally jump at, but I made an exception for this review request, from author Desdemona Wren, because I love paranormal fiction, and wanted to try something a little different.

Marjorie’s last semester of college isn’t off to a great start when she gets partnered with sarcastic, flirtatious Patrick on their first day of Senior Seminar for their senior project. She thought she knew everyone in her major, and Patrick seems to know her, but Marjorie has no recollection of seeing this man in any of her classes.

To complicate things further, his flirtatious behavior is followed up by a hallway make-out session. Marjorie walks out of class to be confronted by Patrick and his very beautiful girlfriend kissing.

Aside from the storyline, this book was an adventure for me – an asexual protagonist in a romance, millennial voice, and a driving plotline. Ms. Wren’s storytelling feels a tad awkward at times, with scattered dialogue that didn’t seem to drive the plot and lagging character development that picks up once it’s finally established.

That said, however, the author took the time to give each character a unique voice in the book, and to some degree, I would attribute some of the awkward narratives to the protagonist’s personality, more than the author’s writing skill (Marjorie has some deep-seated issues – she’s not glamorous by any means). Hooray for a deeply flawed heroine that isn’t swooning over every cute guy she meets!

This is definitely not a young adult read and is geared towards the New Adult level. With an asexual heroine, the book is free of any graphic sexual content, however, the language is rough enough that I wouldn’t recommend this to anyone under 16. Millennial fans of paranormal and diverse books – this one is for you.

Jenn reviews Desdemona Wren's NA Paranormal Novel MARJORIE DIAZ'S UNFORTUNATE INTRODUCTION TO MAGICAL HIGH SOCIETY - diverse books - LGBTQA FIction
Jenn reviews Desdemona Wren’s NA Paranormal Novel Marjorie Diaz’s Unfortunate Introduction to Magical High Society

Buy the Book

 This book is available on Amazon in Kindle and Paperback formats here:


Check Out Book 2:

Marjorie Diaz’s Unfortunate Introduction to Ancestral Politics and Foul Play

Motivation Manifesto

**Note: This post may contain affiliate links. This means that when you click one of the links in this post and make a purchase, Thrice Read Books receives a small commission from the seller. We do not charge authors for our reviews and this does not cost you anything additional and does not impact the author’s royalties – it does allow us to continue bringing you ad-free content, and we thank you in advance for your support.**

Jenn reviews Brendon Burchard's MOTIVATION MANIFESTO - nonfiction - personal development - self-help
Jenn reviews Brendon Burchard’s Motivation Manifesto

About the Book

Motivation Manifesto, Brendon Burchard

Adult, Personal Development, 256 Pages

Publisher: Hay House Inc.; First Edition edition (October 28, 2014)

“The Motivation Manifesto is a poetic and powerful call to reclaim our lives and find our own personal freedom. It’s a triumphant work that transcends the title, lifting the reader from mere motivation into a soaringly purposeful and meaningful life. I love this book.” — Paulo Coelho

The Motivation Manifesto is a pulsing, articulate, ferocious call to claim our personal power. World-renowned high-performance trainer Brendon Burchard reveals that the main motive of humankind is the pursuit of greater Personal Freedom. We desire the grand liberties of choice—time freedom, emotional freedom, social freedom, financial freedom, spiritual freedom. Only two enemies stand in our way: an external enemy, defined as the social oppression of who we are by the mediocre masses, and an internal enemy, a sort of self-oppression caused by our own doubt and fear.

The march to Personal Freedom, Burchard argues, can be won only by declaring our intent and independence, stepping into our personal power, and battling through self-doubt and the distractions of the day until full victory is won. Recalling the revolutionist voices of the past that chose freedom over tyranny, Burchard—at times poetic yet always fierce—motivates us to free ourselves from fear and take back our lives once and for all.

About the Author

 
BRENDON BURCHARD is one of the most watched, quoted, and followed personal development trainers in the world. He is a global Top 100 Most-Followed Public Figure on Facebook, and he’s often referred to as “one of the most successful online trainers in history” (Oprah.com). A #1 New York Times, #1 Wall Street Journal, and #1 USA Today bestselling author, his books include The Motivation Manifesto, The Charge, The Millionaire Messenger, and Life’s Golden Ticket. He is the star and executive producer of the #1 self-help show on YouTube, and his podcast, The Charged Life, debuted at #1 on iTunes. Over 50,000,000 people watched his videos in the last 12 months, more than 30,000,000 see his posts every week across the web, and 1,000,000-plus students have completed his online courses or video series. SUCCESS Magazine named Brendon as one of the Top 25 Most Influential Leaders in Personal Growth and Achievement, along with Oprah, Deepak Chopra, Joel Osteen, Arianna Huffington, Dave Ramsey, Dr. Oz, Wayne Dyer, and Facebook’s Sheryl Sandberg. Learn more at Brendon.com

Jenn’s Review

I’m a personal development junkie (for those who don’t already know this). I stumbled upon Brendon Burchard’s The Motivation Manifesto while looking for something else on his website. At the time, I was mired in overwhelm, health issues, and depression, and as I was already somewhat familiar with Brendon’s work, I jumped on what appeared to be a lovely volume of literature.

I was not disappointed.

This is a slender volume, for sure, coming in at under 250 pages. Contents aside, the time and care Mr. Burchard put into designing the book is clear – this could easily be an heirloom work of philosophical rhetoric from centuries ago.

The content is what sets this book apart, though. Borrowing from the great philosophers of the 17th and 18th centuries, Burchard stylizes and lays out a challenge to 21st Century dwellers to live more fully, open ourselves up to new ways of thinking, and raise our standards.

If you would prefer not to take a hard look at how you’re currently living your life, to be challenged to hold yourself accountable for your words, behavior, and impact on the world, this is not the book for you. If you are not ready to flip your life upside down and change how you think and how you live, this book is not for you.

If, however, you’re looking for motivation to improve your life, start with this volume. If you want to find those elements that seem to be missing from your life, depriving you of a life fully lived – this is your book.

Slender though it is, The Motivation Manifesto is not a book to be rushed through. Take your time. Ponder each section and every declaration. Do the exercises in the accompanying workbook (free to download). Share a copy or two with someone you love.

Jenn reviews Brendon Burchard's MOTIVATION MANIFESTO - nonfiction - personal development - self-help
Jenn reviews Brendon Burchard’s The Motivation Manifesto

Buy the Book

 This book is available on Amazon in Kindle, Audiobook, Hardcover and Audio CD formats here:

Shark Bait

**Note: This post may contain affiliate links. This means that when you click one of the links in this post and make a purchase, Thrice Read Books receives a small commission from the seller. We do not charge authors for our reviews and this does not cost you anything additional and does not impact the author’s royalties – it does allow us to continue bringing you ad-free content, and we thank you in advance for your support.**

Jenn reviews Nancy E. Miller's contemporary romantic suspense novel, SHARK BAIT
Jenn reviews Nancy E. Miller’s contemporary romantic suspense novel, Shark Bait

About the Book

Shark Bait, Nancy E. Miller 

Adult, Romantic Suspense, 308 Pages

Gypsy Willow Press (May 18, 2017)

Mental health counselor Kate Ainsworth received the call from Det. Rayder summoning her to the beach. Never did she guess that the trip involved a client’s head washed up on shore. Murder and mayhem ensue with Kate in the crosshairs. Ben Rayder is set to protect the woman he loves and track down the murderer, hoping it is her pesky ex-husband just so he can arrest the rich bum. Can he convince her to give love a second chance after devastating betrayal? But first, he must protect her from becoming shark bait.

About the Author

Nancy E Miller

 Greetings and thanks for visiting my author’s page. As you can tell from my biography on the book page, I am a complete sap for any four-legged creature. My husband and I live in Illinois near St. Louis, MO with our four dogs, 2 pygmy goats, and partial interest in a horse (Achilles boards here). Crystal Unicorns came out in 2011 and Shark Bait in May 2017 in multiple venues/formats. Desperate Overtures, debuted in July 2018. It is the first in the Alice Gentry series. All are romantic suspense novels…heavy on the suspense. 
I truly hope you enjoy my books. It’s been a long time coming. Feel free to contact me thru my email nancyemiller57@gmail.com or on my Facebook page https://www.facebook.com/Nancy-E-Miller-Author-894245750641373/?ref=bookmarks

Jenn’s Review

I’ve read Nancy E. Miller’s two other suspense/romance novels, and by far, Shark Bait was my absolute favorite and falls firmly in the Romantic Suspense category.

Kate Ainsworth is a mental health counselor. She mostly enjoys her job, though her boss is a chronic headache. Unfortunately for Kate, one of her clients has washed up on the beach. In pieces. With two dead sharks. Enter Det. Ben Rayder, who is in the unfortunate position of having to call Kate to identify her client’s remains.

The situation grows more and more complicated as Ben and Kate reconnect and the danger to Kate becomes increasingly apparent. The pair has a history that didn’t end well, and Kate’s ex-husband is on the prowl to seemingly get himself back into her good graces. Can Ben keep her safe when more than her heart is on the line?

As I mentioned, this book falls squarely in the romantic suspense category, and I thoroughly enjoyed reading this. I read the entire book in two sittings and had to rearrange my calendar just so that I could sit and enjoy this fast-paced adventure.

Ms. Miller’s characters are well developed and multi-faceted. It was difficult to hit the end of this book because I really wanted to continue following their journey. Her world-building in this novel was superb. I think only one or two moments gave me pause enough to pull me out of the story for more than a moment. Plot twists were mostly surprises, though one or two were visible from a long way off.

Considering the plot of the book, I also give props to Ms. Miller for her deft handling of what could be very disturbing and graphic moments in the story. She’s handled potential triggers with a deft hand and dialed down the “gross”.

In short, if you only read one of Miller’s novels this year, start here. By far the best indie-published romantic suspense I’ve read in a long time.

Jenn reviews Nancy E. Miller's contemporary romantic suspense novel, SHARK BAIT
Jenn reviews Nancy E. Miller’s contemporary romantic suspense novel, Shark Bait

Buy the Book

 This book is available on Amazon in Kindle format here:

The Million-Dollar, One-Person Business – Review

Jenn reviews Elaine Pofeldt's THE ONE-MILLION DOLLAR, ONE-PERSON BUSINESS on the Thrice Read Books Blog. Nonfiction, Business Books, Business Development
Jenn reviews Elaine Pofeldt’s The Million-Dollar One-Person Business on the Thrice Read Books Blog.

About the Book

The Million-Dollar, One-Person Business: Make Great Money. Work the Way You Like. Have the Life You Want.,  Elaine Pofeldt 

Adult, Small Business

Lorena Jones Books (January 2, 2018)

The indispensable guide to earning a six-figure take-home income on your own terms, from Forbes.com contributing writer Elaine Pofeldt.

The rise of one-million-dollar, one-person businesses in the past five years is the biggest trend in employment today, offering the widest range of people the most ways to earn a living while having the lifestyles they want. In The Million-Dollar, One-Person Business, Elaine Pofeldt outlines the pathways to joining this entrepreneurial movement, synthesizing advice from hundreds of business owners who’ve done it. She explains how to identify, launch, grow, and reinvent the business, showing how a single individual can generate $1 million in revenue–something only larger small companies have done in the past. Both inspirational and practical, this book will appeal to all who seek a great worklife and a great lifestyle.

About the Author

Biography

Elaine Pofeldt is an independent journalist who specializes in small business, entrepreneurship and careers. She is the author of “The Million-Dollar, One-Person Business,” a look at how entrepreneurs are hitting seven-figure revenue in businesses where they are the only employees (Random House, Jan. 2, 2018). Her work has appeared in FORTUNE, Money, CNBC, Inc., Forbes, Crain’s New York Business and many other business publications and she is a contributor to the Economist Intelligence Unit. 

As a senior editor at FORTUNE Small Business, where she worked for eight years, Elaine was twice nominated for the National Magazine Award for her features and ran the magazine’s annual business plan completion. During her time at FSB, she ran the magazine’s website, fsb.com, for four years, building its traffic to two to five million page views a month. 

Elaine graduated from Yale University with a BA in English. She lives in in New Jersey with her husband and their four children and in her free time enjoys taekwondo, yoga and running.

Jenn’s Review

As the owner of not one, but two online businesses, I’ve been wondering if it’s possible to bootstrap to success. The Million Dollar One-Person Business proves that running lean all the way to huge profits is possible.

Through case-studies and in-depth analysis, the author dissects what makes some lean start ups succeed while others fizzle out.

This is one of my top five recommended reads for someone considering starting their on business. Running a business, especially a bootstrapped start up, is hard work, and the author doesn’t sugar coat this aspect of entrepreneurship.

I came away from this reading with more ideas for our own businesses and how to group them with little to no borrowing.

If you’re tired of the grind and want an honest look at lean start ups, start with this book. I’ll be coming back to this book and it’s various worksheets frequently.

Jenn reviews Elaine Pofeldt's THE ONE-MILLION DOLLAR, ONE-PERSON BUSINESS on the Thrice Read Books Blog. Nonfiction, Business Books, Business Development
Jenn reviews Elaine Pofeldt’s The Million-Dollar One-Person Business on the Thrice Read Books Blog.

Buy the Book

 This book is available from Amazon in Kindle, audiobook, and Hardcover editions. [affiliate link]

Excuse Me, Your Life Is Waiting – Review

Jenn reviews Lynn Grabhorn's Law Of Attraction book, Excuse Me, Your Life is Waiting - nonfiction, personal development, law of attraction
Jenn reviews Lynn Grabhorn’s Law Of Attraction book, Excuse Me, Your Life is Waiting

About the Book

Excuse Me, Your Life Is Waiting,  Lynn Grabhorn

Adult, Self-help 

Hampton Roads Publishing; 15th Printing edition (2003)

Is there a way to always have a fat bank account, a better job, a delightfully smooth relationship, or a better body? Is it possible to realize these dreams now, rather than at some unknown future date? Lynn Grabhorn answers these questions with a resounding “yes.” In Excuse Me Your Life is Waiting, she says that what molds every moment of every day of one’s life are feelings. Using a candid, witty approach, she shows how feelings – not positive things, or sweat or strain, or good or bad luck, or even smarts – set the tone for people’s lives. She frames her theory as a four-part plan that covers all the big topics – money, relationships, health and spirituality – without being pompous or preachy. Grabhorn’s “Law of Attraction” lets the seeker find peace and pleasure in life by feeling rather than thinking.

“Rich in culture, this first book in the Forbidden Love series immediately draws the reader in to this modern take on a familiar star-crossed lovers tale.  The chemistry between Sara and Mazair sparks white hot immediately and every interaction sizzles.” – InD’Tale Magazine 
Be sure to scroll up and hit that BUY NOW button to discover a world in which love faces the ultimate test.

About the Author

Lynn Grabhorn was a longtime student of the way in which thought and feelings format our lives. Raised in Short Hills, New Jersey, she began her working life in the advertising field in New York City, founded and ran an audiovisual educational publishing company in Los Angeles, and owned and ran a mortgage brokerage firm in Washington State. Lynn’s books, which also include The Excuse Me, Your Life Is Waiting Playbook and Beyond the Twelve Steps, have received high acclaim from all corners of the world. Lynn passed away in 2004 at her home in Olympia, Washington.

Jenn’s Review

Want better health? Financial freedom? Release from crushing and debilitating anxiety, depression and more? EXCUSE ME, YOUR LIFE IS WAITING has straightforward answers in a down to earth language that anyone can learn from.

Manifestation and the Law of Attraction is more than just positive thinking, it’s all about how you feel. In a world where we are constantly bombarded by negative messages, Lynn Grabhorn’s book teaches how to move through it, even change your personal experience of the world, without just ignoring the news.

I’ve been studying Law of Attraction for a few years now, and can attest that Ms. Grabhorn’s straight forward approach is spot on. Read through this book for a better understanding of what Law of Attraction is, and how to make it work for yourself; apply the lessons in this book, stick with it, and see the evidence for yourself.

Jenn reviews Lynn Grabhorn's Law Of Attraction book, Excuse Me, Your Life is Waiting - nonfiction, personal development, law of attraction
Jenn reviews Lynn Grabhorn’s Law Of Attraction book, Excuse Me, Your Life is Waiting

Buy the Book

 This book is available from Amazon in Hardback, and Paperback editions. [affiliate link]

At Home with Madame Chic – Review

Jenn reviews Jennifer Scott's AT HOME WITH MADAME CHIC, nonfiction home and personal style
Jenn reviews Jennifer Scott’s At Home with Madame Chic on the Thrice Read Books blog

About the Book

At Home with Madame Chic, Jennifer L. Scott

Adult, Home Improvement, 305 Pages

Simon & Schuster (October 7, 2014)

Approach life at home the Madame Chic way: a beautiful, illustrated toolbox of tips and ideas for organizing, entertaining, and savoring a stylish life.

When she arrived at Madame Chic’s Parisian apartment as a foreign exchange student, Jennifer Scott was a casual California girl who thought sweatpants were appropriate street attire. Madame Chic took Jennifer under her wing and tutored her in the secrets of how the French elevate the little things in life to the art of living.

Years later, Jennifer was back in California with a husband, two young daughters, a dog, and her first home. Every day she confronted mundane duties like folding laundry and unloading the dishwasher, and she began to think about Madame Chic’s home—how the breakfast table was set beautifully the night before, the music that always played in the background, the calm of Madame and Monsieur Chic’s ritual cocktail hour together. Jennifer wanted that life. She decided to see what would happen if she didn’t perform her chores impatiently or mindlessly, if, instead, she could live like Madame Chic.

At Home with Madame Chic reveals the secrets to having a happy, fulfilling, and passionate life at home. Jennifer explains the morning send-off need not be chaotic, it’s possible to look stylish with minimal time and effort, a little forethought makes it possible to serve a home-cooked dinner every night, and details like music and scented candles can set the tone for the whole family’s evening. Organized by the pleasures that can be found throughout the day, this charming, helpful book is full of ideas, playlists, recipes, beauty routines, and advice that can turn an irritating day into an enjoyable experience.

About the Author

Jennifer L. Scott is the New York Times bestselling author of Lessons from Madame Chic, At Home with Madame Chic and Polish Your Poise with Madame Chic (Simon & Schuster) and creator of the blog The Daily Connoisseur. She is a contributing writer for Huffington Post Style and has been featured on CNN, BBC, and CBS News, and in The New York Times, Vanity Fair, USA Today, Newsweek, and The Daily Mail. She lives with her family in Los Angeles, California.

Jenn’s Review

I am always on the lookout for ways to make my home more homey; ways to liven up my wardrobe or self-care routine. It’s not a matter of Keeping up with the Joneses – I honestly don’t care what the neighbors think. It is more a matter of keeping myself out of the rut of the stay at home mom, the chronic pain lifestyle that makes my old ways of doing things beyond reach.

A TED Talk given by Jennifer L. Scott, about the ten item wardrobe caught my attention, and sent me on a hunt for some of these Madame Chic books she’d written. I really wanted out of my old wardrobe of yoga pants, leggings and tee shirts.

At Home with Madame Chic gave me that, and so much more. We recently moved into a fully furnished house, and my life became a constant state of decluttering. With some of the tips in this book, our home feels less like a storage unit and more like a place to live.

Ms. Scott breaks home life into areas, morning, noon, afternoon and evening. She includes recipes, music suggestions and a brief summary of each section. She draws on examples from her own experience, as a student in Paris, and as a work-at-home mom with two little ones.

I borrowed this one from the library, to give it a try before buying it, but it has been moved to the top of my book wish list, along with the other books in this series.

Add class and warmth to your life with this sweet little guide to homemaking with style. Meet Madame Chic, and find your style!

Jenn reviews Jennifer Scott's AT HOME WITH MADAME CHIC, nonfiction home and personal style
Jenn reviews Jennifer Scott’s AT HOME WITH MADAME CHIC, nonfiction home and personal style

Buy the Book

  This book is available from Amazon in Kindle, Hardcover, and audio CD editions. [affiliate link]

Desperate Overtures: An Alice Gentry Novel

**Note: This post may contain affiliate links. This means that when you click one of the links in this post and make a purchase, Thrice Read Books receives a small commission from the seller. We do not charge authors for our reviews and this does not cost you anything additional and does not impact the author’s royalties – it does allow us to continue bringing you ad-free content, and we thank you in advance for your support.**

Thrice Read Books reviews Nancy E. Miller's suspense (with romance) novel, DESPERATE OVERTURES.
Thrice Read Books reviews Nancy E. Miller’s suspense (with romance) novel, Desperate Overtures

About the Book

Desperate Overtures: An Alice Gentry Novel, Nancy E. Miller

Adult, Romantic Suspense, 224 Pages

Published  July 21, 2018

Dr. Alice Gentry is not telling the whole truth. Despite her evidence files full of torture, murder, and fire, there is more to the story than the hunter now becoming the hunted. She pulled in every favor to get the FBI involved. Now it’s SSA Chris Jensen’s job to clear up the facts before she ends up dead. He isn’t thrilled about working with an academic but learns she is more than he ever imagined…much more. Sam Richardson, the one person she trusts, thinks she is in over her head but he will defend her to the death. That’s what you do for the woman you love.
A tidal wave of emotion threatens to engulf her. Fear, guilt and shame work to cripple her. Anger and hate drive her on. She remembers a quote by Friedrich Nietzsche, “Beware that, when fighting monsters, you yourself do not become a monster… for when you gaze long into the abyss… the abyss gazes also into you.”

About the Author

Nancy E Miller

 Greetings and thanks for visiting my author’s page. As you can tell from my biography on the book page, I am a complete sap for any four-legged creature. My husband and I live in Illinois near St. Louis, MO with our four dogs, 2 pygmy goats, and partial interest in a horse (Achilles boards here). Crystal Unicorns came out in 2011 and Shark Bait in May 2017 in multiple venues/formats. Desperate Overtures, debuted in July 2018. It is the first in the Alice Gentry series. All are romantic suspense novels…heavy on the suspense. 
I truly hope you enjoy my books. It’s been a long time coming. Feel free to contact me thru my email nancyemiller57@gmail.com or on my Facebook page https://www.facebook.com/Nancy-E-Miller-Author-894245750641373/?ref=bookmarks

Jenn’s Review

Nancy Miller’s Desperate Overtures is tense, riveting suspense with elements of romance. While it exceeded my expectations, I can’t firmly place it in the realm of romance fiction.

Dr. Alice Gentry is a survivor. She lost both parents when she was a young woman in the aftermath of her abduction and torture at the hands of a budding serial killer. She’s spent years studying and tracking the man who haunts her nightmares, and she finally has access to the FBI, the only people that can bring down the monster.

SSA Chris Jenson doesn’t make the best first impression, but when he realizes what Dr. Gentry left out of the initial interview, his view of the petite woman shifts 180 degrees. Her notes, case files and first hand account prove invaluable as tensions and the body count rise.

Sam? He’s been at Dr. Gentry’s side from day one. The day he drove her parents to the hospital and watched her father collapse, dead, at her bedside. In all the years he’s watched over her, he’s fallen in love with her, but has never given his feelings a voice.

Desperate Overtures isn’t a highly graphic story, though there are elements that might trigger some folks (I’ll be dealing with the images left over for a while, I think), so be forewarned. This is definitely a novel worth sinking your teeth into; the plot twists aren’t plentiful but I found them unexpected all the same.

I hesitate to call this a straight forward romance, though. The heroine’s love interest is muddled through the first half of the book, and overall, the book seemed to be missing some of the requisite plot beats necessary for the book to be satisfactory as a romance – this is not to say that the book wasn’t satisfying, it certainly was. However, some readers may be disappointed if they are expecting strictly a love story. This is definitely more about Dr. Gentry’s resolution of a long-standing wound. This also is the first book in a series, and I’m hoping that book two explores the romance/love story between Alice and Sam more.

In the final tally, Nancy Miller’s Desperate Overtures is worth a read. I was pleasantly surprised, it’s been a while since I had an indie book roll across my Kindle of this quality. I have Ms. Miller’s previous novels, Crystal Unicorns, and Shark Bait, and look forward to reading those as well.

Thrice Read Books reviews Nancy E. Miller's suspense (with romance) novel, DESPERATE OVERTURES.
Thrice Read Books reviews Nancy E. Miller’s suspense (with romance) novel, DESPERATE OVERTURES.

Buy the Book

 This book is available on Amazon in Kindle and Paperback formats here:

Crystal Unicorns: Innocence is so very fragile

**Note: This post may contain affiliate links. This means that when you click one of the links in this post and make a purchase, Thrice Read Books receives a small commission from the seller. We do not charge authors for our reviews and this does not cost you anything additional and does not impact the author’s royalties – it does allow us to continue bringing you ad-free content, and we thank you in advance for your support.**

Jenn reviews Nancy E. Miller's romantic suspense CRYSTAL UNICORNS on the Thrice Read Books blog

About the Book

Crystal Unicorns: Innocence is so very fragile, Nancy E Miller 

Adult Romantic Suspense, 324 Pages

Published November 17, 2013

Now out in paperback as well! Alexis made a fatal mistake. Her new book is about an act of evil and its aftermath, all true and graphically detailed. Now a psychopath wants his due and makes a game of the hunt. Her marriage is dying, and hubby is more than willing for her past love to protect her when Alexis arrives in her hometown. There are more secrets than answers and passion may prove reckless. Innocence is so very fragile. Protector, survivor, and hunter are all victims of shattered lives. They are–Crystal Unicorns. 
Crystal Unicorns is an 80,000 word romantic suspense novel that provides a fast paced, intense psychological journey where cruelty destroys innocence and crushes the human spirit. It is a novel of redemption and renewal against staggering odds.. 
Nancy E. Miller lives near St. Louis, Missouri with her husband, six incredibly spoiled dogs, three cats (not spoiled– entitled), and a tribe of unsociable pygmy goats. She holds a Bachelors degree in Psychology and Sociology and has worked with endangered youth and those dealing with mental illness as an educator, case worker and crisis intervention counselor

About the Author

Nancy E Miller

 Greetings and thanks for visiting my author’s page. As you can tell from my biography on the book page, I am a complete sap for any four-legged creature. My husband and I live in Illinois near St. Louis, MO with our four dogs, 2 pygmy goats, and partial interest in a horse (Achilles boards here). Crystal Unicorns came out in 2011 and Shark Bait in May 2017 in multiple venues/formats. Desperate Overtures, debuted in July 2018. It is the first in the Alice Gentry series. All are romantic suspense novels…heavy on the suspense. 
I truly hope you enjoy my books. It’s been a long time coming. Feel free to contact me thru my email nancyemiller57@gmail.com or on my Facebook page https://www.facebook.com/Nancy-E-Miller-Author-894245750641373/?ref=bookmarks

Jenn’s Review

Another fantastic Nancy E. Miller suspense novel. Unlike Desperate Overtures, Crystal Unicorns is more romance than suspense, though the mystery still takes center stage.

Alexis is a successful author, and her latest release is another big hit, even though it’s much darker than her previous novels. She’s not fond of going on a book tour, and would love to get out of going, especially to Orlando, where deeply buried secrets and feelings are lying in wait for her. To add to her mounting anxiety – her husband is pushing her to contact an old friend. Alexis would rather swallow broken glass than go there.

As her tour launches, though, her book triggers a chain of events that will force her hand in more ways than she can fathom, and when the body count starts to rise, she’s forced to go down that path of memories and broken hearts to lean on a man she hasn’t spoken to in years.

Crystal Unicorns is still not fully what I would consider romance, but it’s dang close. The tension is high, both in terms of mystery and attraction, and the story is well executed. I had a bit of trouble with a plot point or two (won’t dive into them here, to avoid spoilers), but they were not out of place in the context of the story. A solid four-stars and I’m a Nancy Miller reader.

Jenn reviews Nancy E. Miller's romantic suspense CRYSTAL UNICORNS on the Thrice Read Books blog

Buy the Book

 This book is available on Amazon in Kindle and Paperback formats here:

About the Author

Nancy E Miller Greetings and thanks for visiting my author’s page. As you can tell from my biography on the book page, I am a complete sap for any four-legged creature. My husband and I live in Illinois near St. Louis, MO with our four dogs, 2 pygmy goats, and partial interest in a horse (Achilles boards here). Crystal Unicorns came out in 2011 and Shark Bait in May 2017 in multiple venues/formats. Desperate Overtures, debuted in July 2018. It is the first in the Alice Gentry series. All are romantic suspense novels…heavy on the suspense. 
I truly hope you enjoy my books. It’s been a long time coming. Feel free to contact me thru my email nancyemiller57@gmail.com or on my Facebook page https://www.facebook.com/Nancy-E-Miller-Author-894245750641373/?ref=bookmarks

Reviewer’s Review

 

Buy the Book

 This book is available on Amazon in Kindle and Paperback formats here: