Tagged: Magical Realism

The Invisibles

**Note: This post may contain affiliate links. This means that when you click one of the links in this post and make a purchase, Thrice Read Books receives a small commission from the seller. We do not charge authors for our reviews and this does not cost you anything additional and does not impact the author’s royalties – it does allow us to continue bringing you ad-free content, and we thank you in advance for your support.**

Twitter for The Invisibles review
Jenn reviews Rachel Dacus’ The Invisibles

About the Book

The Invisibles; Rachel Dacus
Adult; Suspense; 393 Pages

Time Fold Books (November 1, 2019)

What do you do when you can see invisible people?

If you’re free-spirited Saffron, you try to help them move along. Until one of them tries to move her along into The Room Over There.

Saffron and her older sister Elinor couldn’t be more different. Always independent, Saffron has a genius for creative living, but when her judgmental sister interfered in her love life two years ago, Saffron shut her out.

Ever since nine-year-old Saffron came to live with Elinor and her mother, the sisters have been rivals and opposites. Their competition reignites when they inherit Casa Magni, a cottage on the Italian coast, from their father. They struggle for control of the inheritance, but secretly each wishes to mend their broken sisterhood. Alternately arguing and compromising their way through the Italian countryside, they discover the house not only needs renovation but is haunted.

When big repairs stall the sale that Elinor’s pushing, Italy’s magic surrounds them with fun, unexpected loves, and even harmony — until one shocking night, when everything changes and one sister must make a harrowing choice.

“Charming and scary” …”A bookish mystery and ghost story”, perfect for fans of JoJo Moyes and Kristin Hannah.

Immerse yourself in this tale of sisters and spirits, love and secrets, in the magic setting of Italy.

About the Author

Rachel Dacus writes about women and relationships, with a touch of the supernatural. Her newest book, THE INVISIBLES, is a story of sisterhood and sacrifice, set in a dilapidated and haunted cottage on the northern Italian coast. In her first novel, THE RENAISSANCE CLUB, A 17th century artist meets his superfan from the future, and their love transforms history — but can it give them a future? Rachel Dacus’s poetry has appeared in four collections and many anthologies. Her most recent poetry collection is ARABESQUE. Rachel lives in Northern California with her husband and a tiny but mighty Silky Terrier. She’s a member of the Women’s Fiction Writer’s Association, Romance Writers of America, and Authors18. Learn more at racheldacus.net.

Jenn’s Review

Family secrets, mystery, a charming Italian village, and estranged half-sisters come together in Rachel Dacus’ new Women’s Fiction title, The Invisibles.

Saffron and Elinor couldn’t be more opposite. Saffron is carefree, irresponsible, and somewhat unstable. She also sees the dead, including the ghost of poet Percy Bysshe Shelley. She’s a pro at avoiding being an adult and frequently falls in and out of love – almost always with the wrong man. By contrast, Elinor has no idea how to unwind, relax, or be other than overbearing and controlling. She’s proud of her mid-level position at a local hospital but she’s tired of saving Saffron.

Their father’s death throws the women together to solve a final riddle – one that reveals a long-held secret and the one thing that might finally help the two find their way forward. Together.

Ms. Dacus has a talent for writing lyrical prose and creating deep settings and well-built characters, and The Invisibles is another feather in her cap. Four-stars for this recommended read.

Pin for The Invisibles Review
Jenn reviews Rachel Dacus’ The Invisibles

Buy the Book

This book is available in Kindle and paperback editions here.

Find out what we’re reading and what we’re loving in our monthly newsletter, Between the Lines. You can sign up for it here.

Thrice Read Books will use the information you provide on this form to be in touch with you and to provide updates and marketing. Please let us know all the ways you would like to hear from us:

You can change your mind at any time by clicking the unsubscribe link in the footer of any email you receive from us, or by contacting us at books@thricereadbooks.com. We will treat your information with respect. For more information about our privacy practices please visit our website. By clicking below, you agree that we may process your information in accordance with these terms.

We use Mailchimp as our marketing platform. By clicking below to subscribe, you acknowledge that your information will be transferred to Mailchimp for processing. Learn more about Mailchimp’s privacy practices here.


Also by Rachel Dacus

The Renaissance Club

A Gift of Jacinth

**Note: This post may contain affiliate links. This means that when you click one of the links in this post and make a purchase, Thrice Read Books receives a small commission from the seller. We do not charge authors for our reviews and this does not cost you anything additional and does not impact the author’s royalties – it does allow us to continue bringing you ad-free content, and we thank you in advance for your support.**

Twitter Image for review blog - A Gift of Jacinth
Jenn reviews Allie McCormack’s A Gift of Jacinth

About the Book

A Gift of Jacinth; Allie McCormack
Adult; Paranormal Romance; 379 pages

Amazon Digital Services LLC – June 4, 2019

Douglas needed a miracle. What he got was a genie…

A Gift of Jacinth is a charming, playful paranormal romance novel with a happy ever after and no cliffhanger.

Veterinarian Douglas McCandliss considered himself an ordinary kinda guy with an ordinary kinda life. He had no idea why he’d bought the old silver teapot, and when a young woman appeared before him claiming to be a genie, he almost wished he hadn’t. If only she wasn’t so damned cute.

Ebullient and cheerful, Jacinth loved granting wishes and helping people. So she was thrilled when her teapot’s new owner, a single father with custody of two young children, asked her to stay until he could find a nanny. The problem was, the longer she stayed, the more she was attracted to Douglas, and she was certainly not willing to turn over care of Ben and little Molly to just anybody. But she was a 900 year old genie, and had no intention of falling in love with a mortal man. None whatsoever.

Get your copy and plunge into the magic and enchantment of the Djinn world, and experience a charming and unexpected love story.

About the Author

A career medical transcriptionist, Allie McCormack is now writing from home full-time. Allie has traveled quite a bit and lived many places all over the U.S., and also a year in Cairo, Egypt as an exchange student, and a year in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia under contract to a hospital there, plus a short stint with NATO while she was in the Army. As a single mom, she raised a wonderful daughter who’s recently married and there are plans afoot for grandchildren. A disabled veteran, Allie now lives in the beautiful Sorona Desert in southern Arizona with her two rescue cats and writes full-time.

Allie says: “A writer is who and what I am… a romance writer. I write what I know, and what I know is romance. Dozens of story lines and literally hundreds of characters live and breathe within the not-so-narrow confines of my imagination, and it is my joy and privilege to bring them to life, to share them with others by writing their stories.”

You can sign up for Allie’s monthly newsletter and find out about her other upcoming releases and current projects – www.alliemccormack.com.

Connect with Allie McCormack on Twitter – @AllieMcCormackK

Jenn’s Review

Allie McCormack has another winner with book 2 in her Wishes and Dreams series, A Gift of Jacinth. Humor, romance, and touching drama mingle in this semi-sweet Djinn romance.

Jacinth is still a young Djinn, at a mere 900 years old. And she is not, repeat NOT going to fall in love with a human. Ever. That ended badly for her mother, after all. So when her new sahib (master) wishes for only one thing – the two children his ex-wife abducted, she does her level best to NOT fall in love with them, or the handsome veterinarian who bought her teapot.

Douglas? Once he’s willing to let go of his skepticism, he has only one wish, and that’s to get his kids back. When Jacinth grants his wish, he’s grateful and panicked. He doesn’t have anything lined up for the two youngsters he flies cross-country to retrieve. Jacinth steps in to help him get the children settled, and while everyone gets along, he tries to move on, knowing she’ll leave after his third wish.

McCormack brings hilarity and hijinks to the table in her second paranormal romance. She leaves the bedroom door closed while keeping the sexual tension steamy. An easy four-stars.

Pinnable image for review blog - A Gift of Jacinth
Jenn reviews Allie McCormack’s A Gift of Jacinth

Buy the Book

This book is available in Kindle and Paperback editions here.


Other books in this series:

Wishes in a Bottle (Book 1 – Alessandra & Julian)

Find out what we’re reading and what we’re loving in our monthly newsletter, Between the Lines. You can sign up for it here.

Thrice Read Books will use the information you provide on this form to be in touch with you and to provide updates and marketing. Please let us know all the ways you would like to hear from us:

You can change your mind at any time by clicking the unsubscribe link in the footer of any email you receive from us, or by contacting us at books@thricereadbooks.com. We will treat your information with respect. For more information about our privacy practices please visit our website. By clicking below, you agree that we may process your information in accordance with these terms.

We use Mailchimp as our marketing platform. By clicking below to subscribe, you acknowledge that your information will be transferred to Mailchimp for processing. Learn more about Mailchimp’s privacy practices here.